Keeping up with Chore Money

Quite often I’m asked how we keep up with chore money.  I have found a neat app I thought I might share with you, but first, a bit about how we do chores.

Every morning, seven days a week, my kids have morning chores.  These are the activities they can get paid for.  In order to be paid, they must have the chore done properly and by 8 am (on school mornings…).  I pay 25 cents per job, they can each earn up to a dollar a day doing these chores.  If you are looking for a very structured way to organize your chores, check out Managers of their Homes/Managers of their Chores.  I wrote extensively about it here.  If you’re just needing a quick and dirty method, think about what condition you want your home in at the start/end of the day.  We don’t do any evening chores, because the boys can do them in the morning.  If your kids go to school, you might choose to do yours before bed.  I decided I wanted my dishes unloaded, kitchen table wiped and ready for school, bathrooms cleaned, floors swept, high-chair clean, and bedrooms straightened before school started each morning.  I broke the chores up and we have a good method of getting all of that done in 30 minutes.  These chores stay the same for a year at a time, and they are done every single morning by the same child.

Just after school is over, before they’re allowed to eat lunch, each child has one or two afternoon chores.  They are not paid for these chores.  These are their contributions to our family.  Most of these chores are only done once a week and they, too, are kept for a year at a time.  I selected these chores (by using Managers of their Chores as a guideline) based on what activities needed to be done weekly:  cleaning out the microwave, washing Parker’s clothes, each kid washes his own clothes once a week, quick wipe of all cabinet fronts, quick wipe of all appliances, organize shoe cabinet, clean toys/trash out of van, etc.

For about a year I used a paper printed off with check boxes to keep up with the chores and what I owed the kids.  Now I use an app… it just seems easier.  There are actual “chore apps” out there but they were too clunky.  I just needed one that would keep track of quarters… Introducing, Flexible Counter.

IMG_0970

As I go through the house and inspect their chores in the morning, I click on their names as they earn quarters. At the end of the month, I divide that number by 4 and that’s how much money each child has earned.  Last month, for example, Hayden earned 73 quarters.  I divided that by four and got 18.25.

It works for us.  But the best chore plan for you is the one you will use.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in brothers/boys, family, homeschooling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keeping up with Chore Money

  1. These guys will be awesome husbands! I’m impressed. Much better system than yelling, grounding, yelling some more, witholding allowance, and giving up. Although my kids did grow to be very tidy folks and responsible parents.

    • Jennifer says:

      My prayer is that I hand over well-trained men to their wives someday. Matt’s mother trained him well and it has made our marriage so fantastic. We never fight over household chores or duties, because he’s always been willing to carry a load. My guys, I pray, will do the same for their wives. (And in turn I pray their wives reward me with lots of adorable grand-babies, some of whom I hope are girls. I’m only [half] kidding…)

Leave a Reply

