Mayans and Hamricks

We use Story of the World for our History program.  As we read through it we try to do a few activities that go along with what we’re reading.

Our time in Columbia could not have come at a better time.  We hit the Incas/Mayans/Aztecs just a few weeks ago and it just so happens that Columbia is hosting a Mayan exhibit at the SC State Museum.

Mayanlogo
Photos were not allowed in the Mayan exhibit, but were allowed in the hand-on portion where the kids made their own creations out of clay.  Some of the following pictures were in different areas of permanent exhibits in the museum.
ogakiP4eRseFXw+rKD2%Lg-001

IMG_0825

IMG_0824
Field trips should be celebrated! I treated the boys to a snack at Cook Out, my favorite burger joint.  We had a blast.  And it helped to get me out of my post-moving funk.  That day I felt the best I had felt in months.  I felt more myself…
IMG_0830

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in brothers/boys, family, homeschooling, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mayans and Hamricks

  1. My daughter’s inlaws live in Columbia. The Grandma seems to find so many interesting things for them to do when they visit. Looks like you all had a great time.

  2. Ellen says:

    Any views you can share on Story of the World? I’m hearing a lot of people around me like Mystery of History, so I’m wondering if you know the difference?

    • Jennifer says:

      I honestly don’t know the difference but I would be interested in looking at Mystery of History. Not to replace SotW but to add to it. My kids love history and so anything that feeds that love is a good idea, in my book!

Leave a Reply

