Rejuvenated… ESR3

I’ve been going 100 miles per hour this past month and I’ve let my blog writing slide.  (Two trips out of the state to various parts of the country and one to Camp Eagle, which is where I am currently writing. Not to mention our already-full normal schedule.)

I want to finish my series about the Empowered Spouses Retreat even though I know I can’t give it all the attention I need to.  Had I written these just after I returned I’d have much better insights.

I will start by saying that the retreat came at the perfect time in my life. It came just before a season of massive change:  those aforementioned  trips to visit loved ones, my 40th birthday, and preparing for an overseas move.  The retreat gave me the boost I needed to not only survive the craziness of the next few months, but to thoroughly enjoy them.

Here are some of the ways I was rejuvenated by the trip:

Our group hiked to a waterfall and along the way I got to catch up with a friend whom I truly love.  My soul needed needed the time I spent with her.  Corie has a way of filling my soul and encouraging me in ways that only God knows I need encouraging.  Oftentimes she encourages me in ways even I didn’t know I needed encouraging. She did this for me in a conversation during breakfast one morning that, OH, man, I needed. Her words resonate still… I felt like God was bolstering me up to be the woman He created me to be… it felt like the cool water of Granite Falls was flowing through my entire soul after spending that time with my friend.  She’s kinda awesome.

Another day, when the majority of the group went to the hot springs, I decided to go for a run.  My goal was to run a loop but to also take the time to go see the falls again. I had my best run of 2017.  I was pleased with my pace, endurance, and breathing. I did great for where I am at this point in my running-journey, but to be at 7,000 ft elevation, I was SUPER pleased! I should have taken picture of it but I had to carry bear spray. Never before have I run with a can of bear spray!

These are the falls featured in the early 90’s movie “A River Runs Through It” with Brad Pitt. This is the place where the guys rode a canoe over the edge, risking their lives.

The fresh air, my good run, the time spent having my soul filled up, rejuvenated me, giving me a boost which has helped me throughout the craziness of the fall PCS-prep season.

Previous posts in this series:
1. Refreshed, Rejuvenated, and Empowered: ESR1
2. Refreshed-ESR2

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rejuvenated… ESR3

  1. Judy Gloy says:

    Beautiful and VERY interesting! ❤

Leave a Reply

