School’s in Session: 2nd Grade

Parker – 2nd grade:

I am LOVING this year with Parker!  We get to spend more time together than ever before.  After we read with the family in the mornings (8:00-8:30) Parker takes Anna to her room to play while I Carson, Bailey, and I work on writing.  At 9:15 I put Anna down and Parker and I begin working on his stuff.  We do Handwriting Without Tears Cursive, All About Reading, Math (Saxon homeschool version), Sonlight Core B+C, (Intro into World History), and writing.
Writing – Parker is my first kid to do “writing” class in 2nd grade.  When Stephanie and I went to the the homeschool convention in Fort Worth, I ran across the Bible Heroes lesson plan.  It is perfect for Parker!  We spend no more than 15 minutes a day and he has written 5-6 papers so far.  What I love is that he’s learning the terminology that the bigs use so he’ll be ahead of the game when he’s their age!

IMG_2991
ABCMouse – Parker spends 15-60 minutes every day on this website.  We love it and have found it to be a great tool for reinforcing all kinds of skills.
SpellingCity – While it’s not his favorite subject, Parker does learn some of his spelling words using this website.  I can’t say I’m 100% in love with the site and I’m not really great at checking his progress, but when he does spend time on SpellingCity, he is getting 100% more time on Spelling than when he doesn’t.  (Meaning, it’s the only spelling we do at this point.)
History and Literature – Sonlight Core B+C – Parker and I get some fun, one-on-one reading time with this core.  I read to him from Aesop’s Fables, a poetry book, one of a few different History books (that Sonlight has designed to coincide beautifully with other things we’re reading). Finally, I read to him from the novel provided in the Core.  We have already finished “Red Sails of Capri” and are now on “Ginger Pye.”  I LOVE this sweet time with Parker.  I’ve never had “just a second grader.”  When the bigs were in this age range I had a second grader PLUS two other grades… it’s neat to sit and spend good time with Parker.

IMG_3158

I love 7-year-old Parker. He’s quick-witted, funny, incredibly smart, tender-hearted, and an overall joy!  Matt and I often look at each other and say, “Seven is fun.”  Of course, we are having a blast with our teens and our toddler, don’t get me wrong.  Both ends of the spectrum are incredibly rewarding.  But seven is an age of innocence and joy.  I love this age!

 

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

