Welcome Anna Madeline!!

Our adoption journey has definitely hit a milestone: our little girl was born today!

I have been awake for 36 hours now and I have a night with a baby girl ahead of me so I bet this will be shorter than I envisioned it.  I do, however, want to make our formal introductions:

 

Screen Shot 2016-01-23 at 7.45.08 PM

I am waiting a bit before showing her picture publicly so this is the moment we introduced her to our boys.
I would love to tell you the story of her name, Anna Madeline.

Anna was a woman who met baby Jesus at the temple when he was dedicated.  Anna means “God has favored me” or “highly favored of God”
Madeline is a derivative of Magdalene, Mary Magdalene was a devout follower of Jesus in his ministry.  Both women were devout followers of Jesus.

“Anna Madeline”
She is favored by God and a devout follower of Jesus.

We picked Anna after my longest-lasting, best friend.  We chose it long ago but had NO clue what the meaning was until this past Christmas season.

The birth mother picked Madeline.  Said she just always wanted to name a daughter Madeline (after the book character).

We had originally chosen Anna Caroline (Caroline is my mother’s middle name) and when the mother told us she wanted to name the baby I told her I had a name picked out but that I’d be willing to consider her suggestion.  When she said Madeline I almost fainted… that’s Matt’s mother’s middle name!

So we happily changed it to Anna Madeline – which means that she’ll have an “M” middle name like all her brothers!  When I told the mother how cool all of this was she wrote back, “See? It’s meant to be!”

And to close, here is a picture of the person our Anna’s being named after. Isn’t she pretty?!?

Recent picture of David and Anna

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in About my faith, adoption, family, marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Welcome Anna Madeline!!

  1. Kay Harkey Hamrick says:

    Congratulations to you and your family. I was adopted at 3 days old by my wonderful parents. I grew up an only child. I met your Mom in kindergarten at Amity Presbyterian Church and we went to school together from then on. I know your little girl is blessed to come into such a wonderful family. I know you are probably just as sweet as your Mom. Many blessings to all of you!

  2. Congratulations, We are so happy for your family. We’re friends of Tony and Joleen ( Mimi & Pa) We’ve been praying for this special day.

  3. Judy Gloy says:

    Precious, sweet little Anna Madeline! What a blessing she is. So much love to you and yours! Love, Ralph and Judy ❤

  4. Barbara Murray says:

    Congratulations! I know that you’re excited beyond words. Megan had remembered from a long time ago that you had picked out the name Anna and that you had a box of girl clothes tucked away for such a time as this! We have all been watching this whole story unfold. It is an absolutely beautiful story!

  5. kb2atarcza@yahoo.com says:

    So glad for you! How much longer until she is legally yours? And how long do you have to stay in VA? (I’d love to comedown and visit you, if at all possible.)How are you all weathering the snowstorm?

    • Jennifer says:

      We will likely have to be in Virginia 2 more weeks. It’s all a matter of paperwork.

      Do you have my email address or phone number to get in touch with me?

Leave a Reply

