Lifegiver Military Spouse Podcast – Corie Weathers

There was this time I sat at home and streamed a pretty cool event on my computer and watched a very special friend of mine become the 2015 Armed Forces Insurance Military Spouse of the Year.

It was a SUPER COOL moment for me and I wasn’t even there!  I wanted to shout in my best “ELF” impersonation, “Corie!! I KNOW her!”

IMG_2155

I had no idea the exciting things in store for Corie when she stood on that stage.  What a great platform for her amazing ministry.  She loves military families and she wants to see marriages strengthened.  What a neat opportunity she has to travel the world (literally!) to encourage our service-members and their families.

Corie also utilizes podcasting to share her heart with us and because she knows I have a heart for homeschooling my boys and a heart for encouraging those around me, she decided she’d have me on.  I love to listen to podcasts because I can do that while I’m running, driving, washing dishes… I rarely get the chance to sit and read blogs or watch vlogs, but I can listen to hours worth of podcasts in the course of a week.

If you are here because you heard that podcast, I want to welcome you to my corner of the interwebs.  This blog is full of my thoughts on my life so I write about my family and what we’re experiencing, whether it’s a PCS, our first day of school, living the military life, adoption, you name it.  If we are living it, I’m writing about it.

I’m putting this picture in because it’s pretty surreal!  (I’m on a podcast!  And look at my handsome man!!)  If I’m not mistaken, the podcast is up tonight for subscribers, and will release for the general public on 15 January.  Here is a link to her podcast website and if you can’t hear mine just yet, click on another one and enjoy!

IMG_5187

Anyway, getting to the reason you’re really here, in Corie’s podcast she asked me about homeschooling in the military.  Some of my main points are:

  • I’m a homeschooling mom however, I don’t want moms whose kids who go to school to feel judged by me.  We can be friends anyway!  I tend to believe that each mother genuinely wants the best for her children and she’ll make the right choice. (And as a former public school teacher, I’m a big fan of teachers!  I know for a fact that the majority of the teachers I know love kids and love seeing those light bulbs come on in their students’ eyes.)
  • We decide year-by-year and kid-by-kid whether homeschooling is right for us.  (None of ours have ever wanted to go to school and all have said they want to graduate from our homeschool.  Thrills my soul!)
  • You do not have to have a degree in education to do this.  Or a degree at all.  There are thousands of resources out there to learn what to do first, though I do believe my degree in Elementary Education has made this much easier for me.
  • Even veteran homeschooling moms change something every year!  If you start and don’t like something, change it!  Sell it on eBay!  Please don’t strap yourself to a curriculum just because you paid for it.  Someone else will likely pay you for it.  Move on to something that you like more.
  • You can homeschool on the cheap!   A fellow blogger and another personal friend of mine has written a blog post about that very topic.  Check her out here.

Homeschooling Resources:

First, if you want to start at the beginning of my blogs about MY homeschool, I wrote a post that compiles many resources.  You can find that HERE.

Secondly, if you want to read about what we’re using in our homeschool right now, you can read that at Homeschooling My Way, Part 3.  (As the “Part 3” indicates, it’s an ever evolving collection of fantastic materials.)

Finally below you will find a quick list of the resources I mentioned in the podcast or some I thought of later.  Whether you are a veteran homeschooler, are thinking about it, or may want to use some of these resources to help in your every-day-life, I’m glad you popped in to say Hi!  (And please note the disclaimer at the bottom of my post.  I have a fun little announcement for those who aren’t my regular visitors.)

  • Homeschooling for the Rest of Us by Sonya Haskins: I read this when I had already been homeschooling five years and I STILL learned a lot.  Not only that, I felt a lot of pressure come off my shoulders after reading that book.  The author has given us a book to give away so be listening or watching for how Corie is going to do the give-away!  Thank you so much, Sonya!
  • Plan To Eat – my favorite way to plan my meals and make my grocery list
  • PJ Jonas’ podcast series on homeschooling.
  • Managers of Their Chores
  • Homeschooling in Real Life – Podcast by husband and wife team, Fletch and Kendra.     H-IRL #24 has a ton of resources!     (Blog and Podcast – I get the podcasts from iTunes)
  • Savvy Homeschool Moms: Secular friends sharing their journeys and experiences in homeschooling:  (Blog and Podcast)
  • Preschoolers and Peace – Homeschooling with Little Ones Underfoot.  Kendra Fletcher
  • Homeschooling for the Rest of Us (find it on Amazon or Christian Book.com)
  • Hello Mornings – An amazing online accountability for all women. Some of the groups are specific to homeschooling.
  • Time4Learning – Amazing – I’ll need to do a whole separate blog on this, but it’ll be a while before I get to it.  For now, I’ll just say that I have my 9th grader using the English I course.  I needed to transfer some of the responsibility off my shoulders.
  • How to teach your child to read in 100 easy lessons – (Find on Amazon)

Disclaimer:

I had high hopes of making this blog post beautiful, exciting, perfect.  But we’re in the process of adopting a little girl and today was supposed to be the day I worked on this post.  At 11:00 this morning I got a call that we have a few more things we need to do before we can make this official, and I literally spent five hours of my day chasing down things I needed to email to our agent.  I lost the time I was going to spend on this post finding our DMV records, scheduling two last face-to-face visits with our home study lady, calling doctors about TB screenings… things I could have had done already had I known they needed to be done.  All of that to say, my friend Corie deserves for my post about our conversation to be much better than this.  Much cleaner, more professional.  But you know what?  She knows me.  She knows my heart, and she knows what my day was like and I think she’ll understand!  And I love her for it.

Corie, you are an inspiration to me and I am so honored to be your friend.  I appreciate all the times you listened to me and I so long for us to be stationed together again.  You have handled the trials military life has thrown at you with such grace, especially your very difficult time at Fort Carson.  You have handled this season as MSOY with grace and poise and I am in awe of you.  Thank you for taking the time to listen to me once again in this podcast interview.  I do hope I don’t sound as nervous as I felt when we were recording!

~j

I’m posting these pictures even though I don’t love them of myself, but they’re the most recent I have of the two of us, and our Matts, together.

_JEN4411 _JEN4412

And just because I love you, I want the world to know that you are daily in my thoughts.  Your encouragement is long-lasting.

12308749_10153919014489674_5668098459748477318_n

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in About my faith, family, friends, homeschooling, military and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

