Does my homeschool need a name?

It does, but this should not be a stressful thing.

Homeschools need a name for various reasons.  Some states require it and if you are going to graduate your student from your homeschool, you will need to have an official name on the transcript.  One of my very favorite resources regarding homeschooling is one I found just this year (2015).  Lee Binz*, The HomeScholar, instructs homeschooling parents to create a name for their homeschool for use on transcripts as well as for college applications.  She has a few tips on the best kinds of names to pick and, while I don’t want to steal her thunder, let me tell you that you should put very little effort and time into this aspect of your homeschool.

Screen Shot 2015-09-04 at 10.47.18 AM

When we started homeschooling we had no idea we’d do so forever.  We were living at Fort Jackson and had just gotten word that orders were in the works for a PCS, which could have had us moving during the school year.  That was a problem because our oldest at the time was due to be in Kindergarten and, at the time, was a very timid little guy.  Homeschooling for that year sounded like a great way to overcome that hurdle.  South Carolina had a requirement that I be under a homeschooling organization and they required our homeschool to have a name.  We were at Fort Jackson, so we settled on Jackson Academy.  Simple as that.  Here we are many years later and we just kept on going, and we’ve kept that name.

So, there you have your answer PLUS a bonus tip.  Yes, your homeschool needs a name and you shouldn’t spend a lot of time trying to come up with one.  If you want to read more about my purchase of The Total Transcript Solution, click here.

Disclaimer:
Lee Binz has no idea I’m sharing this with you and I get no kick-backs from doing so.  I just like sharing what I have found that works!  Let me know if you have any questions!

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, homeschooling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

