Active rest.

After two blog posts on rest and three months of practicing it, I want to share one little insight.

~ Rest is not passive.

In fact, I have had less time to blog during this season of rest but it’s because I’ve selectively chosen what to do with my time.  In brief:

I said no to these things:

  • teaching outside of our home;
  • soccer;
  • blogging regularly;
  • PWOC;

I said yes to these things:

  • HelloMornings (I really need to tell you about that!)
  • running every weekday morning;
  • 10,000 steps or more per day (I’m going on 10 weeks without missing a day);
  • homeschooling (we’re just starting week 14 of the 2015-2016 school year!)
  • Spanish (I have a 104 day streak on DuoLingo)
  • deliberately spending time with friends;
  • dating my husband;
  • one-on-one time with each son;
  • reading about how to teach my sons about purity and to be gentlemen (I’m reading “The Talks” by Barrett and Jenifer Johnson)
  • listening to dozens of podcasts a week, filling my mind and my soul;

I have had less “free” time during this season of rest than I had during our previous seasons of work and yet, somehow, I feel rested, rejuvenated, and very excited about starting our new season of work!

PWOC starts next week, as does Community Connections.  I simply can’t wait to dig back into those ministries.

Soccer has already started and I am seeing the passion for the sport grow in my kids’ eyes.  They have missed it so much this summer

Matt has been called to a new level of leadership at our chapel and we are both excited (and humbled) by the responsibility, and my prayers for him have increased as a result.

Our season of rest is coming to a close and I can honestly say that I am energized and excited for this season.

rest (verb)

: to stop using (something) so that it can become strong again

Screen Shot 2015-08-30 at 8.40.53 PM

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in About my faith, personal development and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Active rest.

  1. JEAN HYATT says:

    You are the Best of the BEST sweetheart, & we are so proud of you. We love you sweetie!

Leave a Reply

