I got mugged in the dressing room Saturday night.

And I have the swollen, tender eye to prove it.  And a scratch!  Don’t forget the scratch! (Don’t worry… I’m fine.)

I sort of deserved it.  I was breaking the rules.  The fine store I was shopping in has a five-item-limit rule and I had more than five.  Like, five times more than the limit.

I was in a hurry because Matt and I had dinner reservations (we were on the call-ahead list) for Outback.  I was hungry, and I was breaking the rules, so I was rushing.

I pulled a shirt over my head and pulled down as hard and fast as I could, and the hard metal (okay, really thick cardboard) price tag sliced my eye.  In the midst of the searing pain shooting through my eye-lid I found myself awkwardly stuck, arms sticking out of differing holes, head not quite out the neck-hole.  I was nearly panicking, thinking I was bleeding all over this shirt.  When I finally got the shirt on I found that I was not, in fact producing the amount of blood that I felt the pain justified.  I guess that was good, but the amount of pain was surprising for such a tiny scratch.

The shirt looked pretty good but, just to punish it, I removed it (ever so gingerly), and hung it on the “not-gonna-buy” peg.

The rest of my trying-on experience went without attack.  I found seven items I wanted to buy but only enough in my envelope to purchase five of them.  I had to turn down a really cute (and on sale) jean skirt and a cute all-weather shirt.  (That means, for Texans, that it was sleeveless.)  That’s okay.  I’ll be able to find another jean skirt one day and one of the shirts I did end up buying was a similar all-weather shirt.  I’m good.

I woke up the next morning to a slightly swollen eye, a scratch that was easily covered up by makeup, and a bruise that hurt like the dickens when I washed my face.  If you saw me at chapel Sunday you probably didn’t even notice, and I’m glad for that.  Mostly.  (If it looked as badly as I imagined it would due to the amount of pain I experienced, you might mistake me for a boxing champion… or the one who lost.)

bX80vsl6TBmfwY81mQ21IAI know from the above pictures you can barely tell I was mugged, but I’m telling you, my eye is still hurting!

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I got mugged in the dressing room Saturday night.

  1. Pam M. says:

    Bless your heart! But you are still beautiful ….even with a black eye! 🙂

  2. Cathy Franklin says:

    I have heard of cutting high prices,but never the high prices cutting you! Hate when stuff like that happens. There is no proof of the pain, just the pain. Oh well Jesus knows! I guess we could safely put this one under the heading of first world problem. Right? Ha Ha! Miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

