Giving it away…

We are excited to be in the middle of purging many of our things. We have an entire section of our garage dedicated to things we are giving away. I found a children’s home nearby that accepts women and their kids and sort of helps them find their footing. I am excited that my excess kitchen items and boys’ clothes will be going to actual people in real need.

I spoke with the home this morning and asked if they had any specific needs they knew of. The director said they’re always in need of good, new or slightly used, women’s and girl’s clothing. They get a lot of boy’s clothes (and I’m taking more to them) but women’s and girl’s is hard to come by. They don’t need anything with stains or holes, but the nicer stuff.

If anyone nearby wants to donate any women’s/girl’s clothing, I’ll be going to their place on Friday. Feel free to stop by and I’ll take it with my stuff.

As for the sentimental side of this, I’ve put a brand new SD card in my camera and have set up a little makeshift photo-booth. I’m taking pictures of things I have hauled around the world with me for years and only look at during a PCS. I am going to give these things to new homes and make more space in mine. I will keep the memory of the item without keeping the weight of it.

Making serious progress here and I can’t wait to show you the before/after pictures. For now, I’ll leave you with these two of the kitchen:

20130717-131335.jpg

20130717-131341.jpg

Ideas sparked by the book More or Less by Jeff Shinabarger
Part 1 of our Social Experiment.
Part 2, the conclusion, of our Experiment.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in military, nifty tricks, personal development and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

