From SC to TX via TN

So it has begun.  Friday the packers arrived to pack half of my HHGs (house-hold goods) in boxes.  I gave them strict orders to leave the kitchen, beds, bikes, and electronics intact. There was plenty of work for them to do otherwise.  We’ve never had a Friday/Monday/Tuesday packing/loading schedule with a weekend stuffed between.  It added a whole new dimension to planning for this move.

Anyway, Wednesday and Thursday we feverishly packed what we needed to survive a few months of living out of suitcases.  We put all these “DO NOT PACK” items in the cars because we really didn’t have a good place to put all of it.  (During our last pack-out we were able to convert Bailey’s room to the DO NOT ENTER space… this time we simply didn’t have a room we could devote to that.)

Our movers called us on Thursday to confirm (that’s never happened before) that they’d be here between 8 and 9 in the morning.  I was impressed!  They were on time, polite, and understood why I didn’t want the kitchen and other specifics packed just yet.

So, I sit here writing this (on Saturday) while two boys are enjoying breakfast in front of the T.V. and Matt, Hayden, and Carson are at the range shooting Matt’s Father’s Day gift.  He got a Glock.  I am excited he got this as a gift because it’s something he’s been wanting for a while and he happened to have a close friend who is training him as I write.  The boys spent some time shooting their rifles with their Papa over the past few months and we are training them in gun safety.  I will randomly start sentences and have them finish them:

Me:  “Never aim at something…
Them:  “… you don’t intend to shoot.”

Me:  “Every gun…”
Them:  “… is a loaded gun.”

And because they’re boys they think spent shell casings are pretty cool.  I was taking some clothes out of the dryer a few days ago and saw this:

IMG_1102

I put it on Facebook with the following caption:  “You know you’re raising Southern Boys when…”  I had some non-Southerners ask what it was.  Bless.

I’ll give you a quick update on what’s going on around here and I’ll post as often as I can during the next few weeks.  My goal is five times a week during normal life.  I don’t know if I can manage that during the PCS, last week I certainly didn’t manage to do that, and my footer let me know it:

Screen Shot 2013-06-01 at 10.23.51 AMFAILED.

So, I will post as often as I can but will be back at the desk for a regular 5x/week blog schedule most likely by July.

Until them, I’m going to have a blast traveling the US with my family!

We leave on Saturday for Tennessee, where we’ll spent two nights.  Yes, I understand that TN isn’t necessarily on our way to Texas but we want to meet Dave Ramsey and Nashville is a fun city anyway.

Screen Shot 2013-06-01 at 10.59.13 AM

After Nashville we’re heading south, but our stops along the way are a secret to all the males in the house so I’ll post about those after the fact.  Then we arrive in Killeen and start trying to find our house.  At this point we have been told it could be July before one comes available… we are prepared to live in a hotel for quite some time.  Prayers for favor are appreciated.

(One final note:  I wish my WordPress would allow me two different updates: one for Facebook and one for Twitter.  Because they don’t, poor Facebook users have to see the hashtags that I use for Twitter.  Sorry!  When I manually post to the two different sites, I leave these hashtags off of FB.  When I schedule my posts to hit automatically, the hashtags are there whether I like it or not.  Grrr… Social media sites should get along better than this!)

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in brothers/boys, family, marriage, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From SC to TX via TN

  1. Safe travels to Texas. Tennessee is lovely. You are taking the route that the early immigrants took to get to Texas. It’s not such a bad place to live. Texas is the kind of place where people bow their heads and pray at restaurants. Tell your boys about Shlitterbahn. We leave Texas today and return in November.

  2. Joleen Hyatt says:

    I want to go to Schlitterbahn! That looks like fun!

  3. Pingback: Third stop: West Monroe, LA | thehamricks

Leave a Reply

