All About Reading – Level 1

Hayden and Carson took to reading like fish to water. Bailey, while he likes it, hasn’t taken to it quite as well. He likes it fine, but it’s not his strongest subject.

Several months ago I got an email from a fellow homeschooling mom about a program she was using to teach her new-readers how to read. After a bit of research I decided that, once we got settled in Columbia, I was going to order Level 1 and go through it with Bailey.

The program is called All About Reading and it really is fantastic. It would have been too much instruction for Hayden or Carson, as they flourished with “How to Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons.” But since that didn’t quite work as well for Bailey, this program has been perfect.

We may have been able to start with Level 2 but I wanted to really fill in any gaps he may have, so Level 1 was just right. He was able to work through about two or three lessons a day. When I ordered Level 1 I also ordered the sister program, All About Spelling, which we’re currently working through (even thought we’ve already started our summer break). I am very pleased with this, as well, and have a feeling we’ll be ordering Levels 2 of both programs.

Here’s Bailey the day he finished AARL1:

CpWRtt23TgWL1lyOWVgyng-001A bit about my philosophy of reading and how it relates to Bailey: I knew he was not reading as well as his brothers had at his age, but my main goal was to make sure he loved reading and that it didn’t become a battle. Had he been in a school setting I have a feeling this would have become a major point of contention in our home. I’m thankful for our choice to homeschool because it has provided us the opportunity to work with Bailey at his pace without him ever feeling behind or out of place. He just works his hardest, enjoys reading, and goes on about his day.

I’d rather him read later than his peers and LOVE it when he finally masters it than to force it upon him and create a distaste for reading. I’m already seeing the benefits of this program and the fact that I have stood by my philosophy even though it may seem counter to my Elementary Education degree. One minor way (minor to you… HUGE to us) we are seeing results is in the fact that we are playing Apples to Apples as a whole family now.

That game has words on it that a 9 year old should be able to read with ease. However, Bailey has had some trouble in the past reading the cards. He always hesitated in playing and would rather go play with Legos or some other toy. We made him play with us a few weeks ago and he actually LOVED it. He has found a new freedom in being able to read the cards for himself and the night after we played this rowdy hand, he actually begged us to play it again. As I said, this is HUGE!!

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in brothers/boys, homeschooling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to All About Reading – Level 1

  1. Yadira Call says:

    I am home schooling now!! Wondering what pack you bought to start out with?? There are several sets. Looking for something different for my son. Thx!!!! Yadira Call

  2. ellenwit says:

    I’ve been using this to teach my kindergartener to read. We’ve been taking it really slow because he’s young. I broke a lot of the lessons into 3 or 4 parts in the beginning, and we’re about halfway through it at the end of our kindergarten year. I loved her pre-reading curriculum, too. Lots of games and jumping around for active little boys. 😉

    • Jennifer says:

      It’s great to be able to tailor a curriculum for the age/skill level child that you’re working with. I’m excited at what I’m seeing in bailey. The skills increasing, sure, but the little moments when he beams with pride at reading a word he wouldn’t have been able to decode 4 months ago. 🙂
      I’m certain we’ll hit a point where we’ll have to slow down on the reading side. He’s only able to do one lesson a day in the spelling side. 🙂

  3. whimsymum says:

    We “quit” school when we were doing Kindergarten because Will balked at the “teach your child to read in 100 easy lessons…” He hated school, hated books, hated reading! I’m glad he can read now, and we actually enjoy doing school again (a year later). I’ll be using something else for Spencer, and I’ll keep AAR in mind for him.

  4. Jennifer says:

    I tried the 100 easy lessons with my son Carson years ago and it didn’t go so well, probably because I had a hard time with the book. I found out that he loves the Kumon math workbooks, even though he is in school we still do “summer learning” each day. I think it is all about fostering our children in their own unique way, figuring out what interests them and makes them tick, what holds their attention and of course their learning style. Apples to Apples is one of our family favorites! We love most of the award winning games. Blokus is amazingly fun too!

  5. Beth T says:

    Focus on the Family( in 1999- am I old!!!)had a “show” on teaching boys to read and delaying formal school for boys in particular because the experts have found that most boys mentally and physically need more time to mature. The expert said he recommended waiting until a boy was around 9-10 before starting schooling! Maybe the timing plus your AAR hit the nail on the head for Bailey. What ever it was – so glad God led you to AAR.

    • Jennifer says:

      I fully agree with you, Beth! There is no need to rush them! It’s been so amazing to watch Bailey unravel this mystery on his own terms. He just asked me to text his buddy’s mom (they live down the street) to see if the kid could come over at three to play Apples to Apples. Timing is everything!

Leave a Reply

