Apples to Apples – Toughest choice EVER

If you know me, there are a few things in life that I love.

Jesus, and yes, I had to say that because without Him, nothing else matters.  Just after Him, I love my family: this pack of boys I do daily life with, as well as my extended family.

But going beyond that, I love cold weather, I love coffee, I love cake, and I love my girlfriends.

So we were playing a rousing game of Apples to Apples the other night and the game took an epic turn.

Let me quickly explain the concept of the game:  Each person has five red cards in their hand.  All the players take turns being the “judge” and the judge draws a green card.  The judge reads the green card and other players look in their hand of red cards to find the one that either best matches the green card or would be really funny.  The judge gathers the red cards, mixes them up, and reads them one at a time, not knowing which card came from what player, and finally selects the one that they feel fits the green card most closely. The person who laid down the card the judge selects gets the green card.  When a player has four green cards, they win the game.

On this particular turn, I was the judge.  I drew “Best: greatest; finest”

Not a second after I finished reading it Matt slapped down a card and declared, “I’ve got this one in the bag!!!”

That sure was cocky…

Then Carson challenged him stating that he was pretty sure he was going to win this hand. Then Hayden did.  Then Bailey did.

I specifically looked at Matt and said, “Babe, the only way you have this one in the bag is if you put down ‘coffee.'”

The boys were sure they were winning this hand.  Matt was more sure.

Look at what I had to make a choice from!!!
IMG_0768

So, my dear husband won.  He had put down coffee and I had made a declaration that he was the winner if he had that card.  BUT!!  I couldn’t resist taking this picture and stating that this was the *best* hand EVER!

I could have coffee and cake in Alaska with all of my girlfriends.

Now THAT would be the BEST!

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in brothers/boys, family, friends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Apples to Apples – Toughest choice EVER

  1. I don’t think I found my way to your blog by accident. This old retired Army Wife needed to be cheered up and you did that quite well. Thank you and God Bless.

  2. Pingback: All About Reading – Level 1 | thehamricks

Leave a Reply

