Italy 17: – Assisi

After our somewhat sobering time in Pompeii we were happy to visit Assisi.  I didn’t anticipate the views of the town, inside the town, or from the town being so beautiful.

_JEN4564We stayed in a Youth Hostel the one night we were there.  We really just needed a place to rest our heads for the night, as the drive from Pompeii to Venice was a long one.  Assisi was the perfect place to stop so we could rest, but it happened to be a place Matt wanted to see anyway.  The hostel was sufficient and provided a great-smelling meal, which we had opted against in favor of a restaurant in town.  Turned out to be a bad idea as most restaurants were closed by the time we were ready to eat and we ended up being back at the hostel in time for their dinner.  If you stay here, eat their dinner!IMG_3608Parker loved being able to play with his stick and walk around, stretching his legs after being in the car for a while._JEN4567We arrived in Assisi and unloaded the car, then we walked up the hill to the town.

_JEN4588 When we turned around and saw the view we were completely stunned._JEN4591We entered the town and walked directly toward the basilica.
_JEN4594 This picture is taken from inside the grounds of the basilica._JEN4605 Matt entering the church.  I stayed outside with the boys since they were not all that interested.  Matt was able to see the tomb of St. Francis._JEN4602 While we waited for Matt, we saw some monks.  It was starting to get dark and the following picture had to be lightened a lot for you to even be able to see them.  Sorry. _JEN4634 Exterior of the basilica._JEN4626 The image below is of a statue that was located just to the right of where I was standing when I took the above picture.  In fact, you can see a man and woman looking at the statute in that picture.  (This website tells a story about the statute and what it represents. I have no idea of the accuracy of the story, but it’s pretty neat, regardless.)_JEN4619 Walking back through the town was one of my favorite parts.  It was the cutest town we visited by far, each road having its own special charm.  _JEN4635_JEN4597

The next morning (our only morning in Assisi) I laced up and went for a run before the sun came up.  These are pictures I took along the way with my iPhone.  If you are going to do this run, I enjoyed the strategy I used:  I left my hostel and ran up the hill toward Assisi.  I turned right and went around the perimeter to the top-most entrance.  I entered through the top gate (there’s a bus stop just outside this gate) and turned right (up the hill even more).  I went toward the basilica from the farthest end of town, winding back and forth, back down the hill, between brick buildings, seeing the doorsteps of homes, sleeping cats, and the traces of real life lived in Assisi.  Absolutely fascinating.  From iPhone2

What I think we’re doing today:

We head back to my parents’ house from the beach, sad to say goodbye to the views of the ocean but we are thankful that this time we know that we’ll see it sooner rather than later.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Italy 17: – Assisi

  1. Pingback: Italy 17: – Assisi | Home Far Away From Home

Leave a Reply

