Barcelona! (Part 1)

Talk about an early morning!  Our flight was crazy early and the airport is over an hour away, so Aimee (who had spent the night with me) and I were picked up at 3:40 am.

Here are the 4.5 of us on our plane.

After our flight and a bus ride we were in downtown Barcelona.  We stopped in a book store specifically to find a Bible in Spanish… after we had shopped around for about ten minutes we realized we had actually entered a Christian Bookstore!   How neat was that?!?

The next stop was for churros and chocolate!  I had to laugh when, halfway through my snack I realized we were eating in a restaurant with an Italian name and sign.

After some delicious chocolate we went on a quick walking tour of some nearby buildings decorated in the style made famous by Antoni Gaudi.

While we walked around I found my Starbucks and got my mug.  Christy spotted an owl which was fun since her son’s nursery is decorated in an owl theme.  Before long it was time to meet the property manager to check into the apartment we were to call home for the next three days.

When we looked out the living room window we were surprised to see that we had a view of the four spires from La Sagrada Familia.  Unbelievable.  (This was the church that was on the cover of the notebook Aimee had given me, part of revealing the surprise. Below you can see pictures of chocolates given to me from Jessica as her part in the reveal.)

The second chocolate on the bottom has a picture of La Sagrada Familia on it.  Oh, and keep this lizard in mind.  You’ll see why later…

For now, I’m going to close this post because it’s my bedtime.  I had a fantastic Tuesday with Aimee.  I can’t believe that I only have one more Tuesday with her before I move… we fly two weeks from today.

Now, I get to go catch up with my hubby after his Man-Cation.  (He got home last night but the boys pretty much monopolized his attention.  Tonight is my turn!)

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, friends, germany, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Barcelona! (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: Barcelona! (Part 2) | thehamricks

  2. meximolina10 says:

    Sounds like you guys had a great time!! Do you have a Starbucks mug from Mexico?

  3. Pingback: Beyond words… | thehamricks

  4. Pingback: 366 | thehamricks

Leave a Reply

