Made to Crave: 25 (RESULTS!)

Today I met with my trainer for her to take my official measurements.  I was a little nervous, afraid that there wouldn’t be much of difference between then and now.  As I shared this with her she said that the reason that people worry in this situation is because they see themselves every day in the mirror, but can’t see the difference that the numbers reveal.

Before we even started taking my measurements she told me she was proud of me.  And the numbers revealed to even me that I had made progress.

I am excited to share with you the results of my running, Insanity, weights, and counting calories, but I know for sure that there is no way I would have stuck to all of those things had I not read Lysa Terkurst’s book Made to Crave.

I read that at my lowest point emotionally and it really gave me exactly what I needed to get started on this journey.  It gave me:

  • permission to be disappointed with where I was;
  • mercy for the days I messed up;
  • a new way to look at each choice I made regarding food and exercise; and above all…
  • the realization that food and exercise were spiritual aspects of my life, not just physical.

I had always separated that part of my life from my spiritual life.  I needed to see my exercise as obedience to the Lord, treating my body as the temple that it is.  I needed to see that food is not evil and that occasional treats are just fine, but using treats as a way to comfort myself emotionally is unhealthy.

I am excited about this journey because, for the first time in my life, I think I’m going to stick with it.  One of my earliest fears when I started seeing success is that I’d get to where I want to be and quit exercising or watching what I eat.  (That had been my pattern in the past.  Actually, I’d lose 10-15 pounds and then give up.  I needed to lose quite a bit more than 15 pounds…)

I don’t think that’s going to happen this time and the proof is that I’ve been able to maintain my weight throughout a 17 day trip to Italy, a 3 day trip to Spain, and Thanksgiving.  I haven’t gained anything at all over the past month, and it has been a very “off” month, with vacations, movers, my birthday, and my favorite holiday.  I ran while in Italy and I even did an hour long Insanity DVD on Thanksgiving, pausing only to baste the turkey every 30 minutes.

My heart is happy, my body is healthier.  I do have a goal to lose another ten pounds, so that my new size will fit no matter what I try on.  Right now, some size 8s fit but not all.  I want to be what I call a “solid size 8” and I believe that the next ten pounds will get me there.  I wanted to have that gone by the time I left Germany but I don’t see that happening.  I think a reasonable goal is to maintain my current weight, eat healthfully, and exercise regularly throughout the next month-and-a-half until we get into our new house.  THEN I will try to work off these last ten pounds.

So, my results:

I’ve lost 34 pounds (though that number fluctuates daily… at my lowest point, which I reached last week after a really long run, gave me a total of 38 pounds lost… the 34 is what my trainer got today on the scales we’ve used…  I’m not too concerned about it going back and forth within a few pounds, and the number today was exactly what it was the day I left for Italy.)

I’ve lost 46 inches.

I’ve dropped 8 jeans sizes.

My BMI dropped 6 points and my Body fat dropped 9 percent.

None of this was done in my own strength, I can absolutely assure you.  I give full credit to the Lord giving me the strength and I probably quoted Philippians 4:13 a thousand times:  “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

I share my results with you for two reasons:  1. So that you will be motivated if you are in the same boat I was in six months ago, and 2. because I fully believe that when we have worked hard at something, there is nothing wrong with sharing the fruits of our labor.

Our English language is lacking in some areas and one, in particular.  We use the word “pride” to mean a bad thing and a good thing:

“Proud ” can mean we’re self-centered and consider ourselves better than someone else.  On the other hand, “proud” can mean that we feel good about what we’ve accomplished.  We tell our children when they’ve done well on a drawing or Lego creation that they should be proud of the hard work they put in.  Why, once we become adults, do we no longer think we’re allowed to be proud of our hard work?

So, I share my results because I’m proud of the hard work I put in, the hours I spent sweating, and the difference I’ve made in my overall health.  I’m not proud in the sense that I think I’m any better than anyone else…. I do hope you understand my heart on this.

So, with that said, here’s the new me:

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in Made to Crave, weight/health. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Made to Crave: 25 (RESULTS!)

  1. Rebecca says:

    Love Lysa! So proud of you and your hard work and journey!

    • Jennifer says:

      Thank you, Rebecca! I do hope that once I’m back in the states I’ll have the pleasure of meeting her and letting her know how much she’s touched my life. 🙂

  2. Debbie Hagemann says:

    Wow Jennifer!!! Amazing success story! Way to stick with it throughout all the chaos of life. You are an inspiration to me!

    • Jennifer says:

      Yes, chaos… I have learned how to stick to it in the midst of it. I think one of the hardest parts was realizing that I simply couldn’t do everything I thought I needed to do so I had to figure out what was most important. For example, the month my trainer had me doing two-a-day workouts I seriously didn’t get much house work done. My husband was okay with that and never made me feel bad for it… he knew I was exhausted but the rewards would be worth it. 🙂

      Oh, and he started two-a-days and has lost 30+ as well!

  3. Donna Castle says:

    You look fabulous. Well done!

  4. I’m inspired to continue on my journey!

  5. Pam M. says:

    I need to start my own journey…health reasons as well as just feeling better about myself. Made to Crave, huh? You look absolutely amazing!!!!! I am proud of you too!

  6. Stephanie Bailey says:

    Love it and love you!! So cool!

  7. Joleen Hyatt says:

    Just look at my skinny daughter! I am so PROUD of you – and there’s anything wrong with being proud of your accomplishment. There is a difference in being proud of something you’ve worked hard at, and being prideful. You are definitely not prideful! You are an inspiration to many – including me. I love you and can’t wait to see your “skinnyness” in person. We prayed for you tonight at Bible Study – that moving back will be a smoothe and easy transition for you all.

    • Jennifer says:

      Mom, those prayers are highly coveted right now, as I have no idea what kinds of things to expect. Crazy thing is we’ve been told to expect 3-5 months to readjust to being back in the states adn about that time we’ll be packing up to move again. So, if you want to have your Bible Study Buddies cover that specifically I’d appreciate it!

      And thanks for your sweet words! We’ll have to exercise together… not Insanity… how ’bout we chase around 6 kids! (Mine and Josh’s) I get dibs on Madison!

  8. Christy says:

    I am so happy for you and proud of you! You’ve inspired me as well, and I probably would have only lost half the weight I have without your motivation.

  9. Jennifer….you have always been beautiful to me…because I see hearts not dress sizes…and you have a super size heart for God. Thank you for sharing your success…and giving God the glory!

    • Jennifer says:

      Thank you! I too see others in size of hearts rather than dress sizes but for myself, I knew my dress size was a direct result of my disobedience. I had to get it under control and this journey has been so difficult, exciting, and rewarding. To GOD be all the glory!

  10. Tony Hyatt says:

    Hi Sweetie, You look amazing, so beautiful and I am so very proud of you! I read your blog and swell up everyday that I do, you are a blessing and inspiration to many including me. From FPU – raising a beautiful family to personal and spiritual care you are truly gifted. I love you!!! Dad

  11. Tracy Byrd says:

    You should be proud of your hard work. You have done something amazing for yourself. You are an amazing woman, mother, wife and teacher. I am thankful that God gave us the chance to meet.

  12. Pingback: Leaving home to go home. (Part 2) | thehamricks

Leave a Reply

