Deck the hollow walls…

After our Blue Friday I decided there was no way we were going to make it two-and-a-half more weeks in this house with no Christmas Decorations.  Because I needed to get out of the house to prevent a severe case of cabin fever, I decided that a stop at the Toy Store was in order.  This made all the kids happy and let me shop for cheap Christmas decorations, as our seasonal section is located at the back of the toy store.

I found just what I wanted.  A tiny tree and two strands of lights.  Put together we have a touch of Christmas in our living room.

Tonight we watched a movie together as a family plus one of the boys’ best friends, Isaac. We did so by the light of the tree and it felt nice.  It will certainly suffice until we are wheels up.

I am stinking excited that my husband comes home tomorrow!  Oh, did I not tell you?!? He’s on a Man-cation to Normandy, France with two other guys.  This is Matt’s “Spain” trip, in a way.  I was disappointed I wasn’t going to get to see Spain, he was disappointed he wasn’t going to get to see Normandy.

When my friends started planning my surprise trip to Barcelona, the husbands decided to start planning a guys’s trip.  However, since I do the budgeting, I would have seen the hotel and car being reserved, so the other men handled those things.  Matt didn’t tell me about his trip until after the big reveal because he was afraid that if he did, I’d start trying to figure out a way to do a girls’ trip… an idea I’d flirted with a few times.  So, he’s been in France since early Friday morning.  He told me it has rained on them the whole time and he even had to buy rain boots because of the mud.  I’m glad he comes home tomorrow and I bet he’ll like my attempt to decorate our hollow walls.  (And by “hollow” I don’t mean the walls themselves are hollow, but that there is no furniture between our walls and everything echoes.  But I guess once you have to explain your title it becomes a poorly-chosen title…)

I stayed up way too late last night working on a project and tonight I plan to go to bed at a much more decent time.  I want to get back into the habit of waking before the boys and the only way to do that is to go to bed before the next day starts.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deck the hollow walls…

  1. Christy says:

    I’m so glad you got a little tree! I was going to stop by the store and try to find one for you, but you beat me to it! Merry Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

