Day 1 Pack Out

I’m a little surprised by how much our packers accomplished. Today was supposed to be a “pre-pack” day, which I assumed meant they wanted to get a little head start on packing things into boxes.

I’m pecking this blog post out on my iPhone because the Big Mac has already been packed up. I’m sitting on the loaner bed, something I didn’t expect to be doing for another night or two. Our packers finished about 70% of the job between the hours of 8 a.m. & 6 p.m. today.

I’m very pleased but a little shocked at the same time. I expected to have a little time to say goodbye to our house (the way it was set up) than I did. I should have taken more pictures. This is one part of moving that is tough: leaving a home where we made many memories and brought a child into the world.

This is the only house Parker has ever known. He didn’t understand when he walked into his room and it was full of boxes. No crib, no toys, no changing table. I told him the movers were going to take all his things to Parker’s new house and he responded in his two-year-old first-person manner: Pah-Kah not want that man take my toys to Pah-Kah’s new house.”

I don’t worry that we won’t make new memories or have great times in our next place but the grieving must take place and it has begun. It hit me pretty hard when we came back from the gym tonight and walked in to a practically empty house.

This is tough, but it is as it should be. We are sad, but we are at peace.

20121113-230552.jpg

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, germany, military. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 1 Pack Out

  1. Joleen Hyatt says:

    Why is it that I’m sad too? You’re moving 2 hours away from me! That poor lonely high chair…On the bright side, I’ll see you in 4 weeks!!! Parker will be fine, and tell the bigs that Papa bought a new four wheeler today. We now have three four wheelers, three helmets, and a golf cart for Parker! Let the fun begin! Can’t wait to see you, but I will miss our home away from home too. We never stayed anywhere on vacation as long as we stayed at your house.

    • Jennifer says:

      You’re sad because I’m sad. We’ve been blessed with a lovely house filled with lovely people, friends and family alike. It’s hard to say good-bye to that. My items are spread out all over the front yard being packed into crates. Excited for our adventure but I know fully that I’m allowed (if not expected) to be sad for a while. And by “expected” I mean that that’s the normal process of grief, and grief follows major life changes… even good ones. Moving is one of the top life changes one can experience. But this reply is getting to be long enough to be a stand-alone post, so I’ll close now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

