What we will miss: 19 – Miscellaneous things.

  • Edelweiss.  The place, not the flower.  We’ve visited there so many times it became a second home to us.  I hated leaving Garmisch every time, but the last time was particularly tough.
  • The quiet.  I remember hearing people tell me that Germany was quieter than the states.  When I visited family in OCT 201o I didn’t notice America as being loud, but when I got back to Germany the quiet was immediately obvious.  I will miss the quiet, even though I love America!
  • Doners.  And brats.  And schnitzel.  And pretzels.
  • Christmas Markets.
  • Tuesday afternoon coffee dates.
  • The complete freedom of homeschooling under DODS.
  • Mykonos
  • Maldaner.  Oh, Maldaner.
  • Bathroom towel warmers.

A bit about our trip:

Today we have no plans but to sleep late, wash clothes, and relax.  In just a few days we begin the preparation for our upcoming move but for today… we rest.

This concludes this series but it is in no way exhaustive of the things we will miss about living in Germany.  I’m sure I’ll think of many other things along the way, especially once we move back and actually start to miss them.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, germany, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What we will miss: 19 – Miscellaneous things.

  1. Christy says:

    Lia loved it when you took her to Maldaner so much that I think we might dress up fancy and take her and a few of her friends there for a tea party on her birthday. Wish you could come! 😦

  2. Joleen Hyatt says:

    You can still have towel warmers in the States! Thanks to you and Josh (and Dad getting mine hooked up) I have nice, warm towels all the time! Great gift!

Leave a Reply

