What we will miss: 16 – Our Friends.

I’m going to be very careful not to get too sentimental on this particular post.  

In fact, to avoid putting myself in the “I’m about to PCS and leave these amazing people behind” funk, I’m going to keep this short.

Short but sweet.

Because of our fantastic location and massive living space we tend to host most functions at our house.  I treasure the two Thanksgivings I hosted here which each consisted of more than 40 people.  I definitely count those two days among my top memories in Germany.  Partly because I just love Thanksgiving and what it represents.  Partly because I love to host.  But mostly because it was a day that reminded me that I’m surrounded by “family” even when we can’t be with our NC family.  That was all the more reason to be Thankful!!

This particular year will be slightly different as I won’t be hosting.  I won’t have any furniture!  We’re planning a very small, intimate celebration and I’m looking forward to it just as much as I did the two large events I held here, but in completely different ways.

We have had to say good-bye to great friends who moved before us, to all corners of the earth, but keep in touch with them through the magic of Facebook and Skype.  And snail mail, at times.

Matt holding Parker and Kayla so they can talk to Connor.

During our time in Germany we’ve gotten together for girls’ nights out, card games, holidays, Bible Studies, impromptu prayer gatherings, and pounds and pounds of rationed coffee.  (For those who don’t know, our coffee is rationed.  We have to show a ration card at the commissary to purchase it… something about it being cheaper at the commissary so they don’t want us to turn around and sell it or something… I don’t know.  I worried I’d use up my rations but so far, I’m still good.)

At this moment I am feeling my emotions start to twinge so I think I’ll close here.  I’ll leave my more sentimental thoughts for later.  When I’m ready to deal with that.

A bit about our trip:

Today I’m in VENICE.  The real one in Italy!

I am still having a hard time believing that this is real!

Today we plan to sleep late after having had so many GO-GO-GO days.  We will most likely have brunch before going to Murano to the glass blowing museum.  We plan to eat at Gatto Nero on the island of Burano (where we may see the lace museum).  This restaurant serves Risotto Buranello.  Apparently Anthony Bourdain made this restaurant and/or meal famous.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, germany, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

