What we will miss: 14 – My fields.

I don’t really like running in cities.  I don’t like having to stop at lights or crossing streets. I prefer paths where I only meet other runners or people out walking their dogs.  I can get completely lost in a podcast or audio travel guide talking about places I am going to see when I don’t have to watch for cars.

Those are the reasons why I typically pick the fields to run in.  Here’s the most common loop I do, however now that I’m trying to get more mileage in, I’m having to get creative.

No matter where I go, the first mile I run is always in the city.  I do my best to finish my run so that I can walk back home through the city.  I like to end my run while still in the fields so I can enjoy the views.  That is getting much harder now that I’m running over seven miles at a time.

I have some German friends and I hope they don’t read this as a negative but I want to share it because it is part of my experience.  Americans (especially those of us born and raised in the south) wave at everyone we pass.  Not a crazy parade wave but a slight one just to acknowledge that we are passing.  To not wave at someone would feel rude to me, though I don’t see Germans who don’t wave back as rude.  I understand that this is not their custom.  I find it extremely fun when I pass another American and they actually wave first! Germans don’t wave or make eye contact as they pass other people in the fields, unless the person they’re passing has a dog or a baby.  I wave to those I pass and get some funny looks but I don’t mind.

Oh, and speaking of dogs: I’ve found that German people tend to train their dogs to leave other people alone.  They are almost never on leashes in the fields and I’ve never ever had one approach me.  At first I dreaded passing these people who let their dogs off leashes but that soon passed.  Seriously, the dogs don’t even notice people.  I love German dogs!

There is one particular spot in the fields that I love.  I call it the “two trees” because there are two trees there.  They are separated by 200 yards, I’d say (but don’t quote me on that). For a short run we can go through the neighbhorhood, turn down one street, turn right at the first tree, right again at the second tree, and back home, for exactly three miles.

Here is a picture taken of the boys on the day we walked to WAAF.  We were parked at the 2nd tree on the map.

Nicely placed bench for a Nilla Wafers and water break

Here are some of my previous posts about my fields:

A bit about our trip:

This morning I plan to get up before my family to take some sunrise pictures from a location I scouted yesterday while taking the Grand Canal cruise.  I plan to pick a spot that will be perfect for early morning pictures.  I’ve already checked on the time of sunrise:  0737.

We have plans to see Doges Palace and take the Secret Itineraries tour, which will let us actually cross the Bridge of Sighs.

We will take turns going into St. Mark’s Basilica so that we don’t have to worry about Parker being loud.  After this we will take Rick Steves’ “St. Marks to Rialto” walking tour for sunset pictures of the Rialto Bridge.  I have researched and found a good family restaurant nearby:  Pizzeria Trattoria La Perla:

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, germany, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What we will miss: 14 – My fields.

  1. Jennifer says:

    Reblogged this on thehamricks and commented:
    This was 1 year ago today: High Waters in Venice,close to the end of the perfect vacation.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Your pizzeria photo is making me hungry. Loving your blog. I miss the field and forest. My childhood was spent in the forest of Wiesbaden-Rambach where my Opa and Oma lived. My dad was stationed in Germany for over 1/2 his career and we have been back twice with my husbands career. From all the cities I have been to in Germany (besides southern Germany) Wiesbaden is still my favorite. The area just captivates you. I am sure you will be missing the Christmas markets soon because nothing here really compares. Our next duty assignment is Poland. I am embracing our last few months here in Colorado where my kids can run freely and have a true American childhood experience. We keep waving and saying hallo no matter where we go. Sharing the love of Christ through a smile or a wave and make any ones day.

    • Jennifer says:

      Wiesbaden is a gorgeous place, and so is Colorado. I think it would be fun to be in Poland for a while! It is hard to leave Colorado, I can say, but going somewhere exciting like Poland would make it worth it.

  3. How long did it take you to walk to waaf? That seems far with small children!

  4. Joleen Hyatt says:

    It takes longer with an elderly mother who gets blisters on her feet by the first tree! Thankful for the bowling alley to stop and rest my feet, have a frozen coffee treat, and wait for Papa to come pick us up! Did I make it at least 3/4 of the way? Loved the fields and the beauty, just not the blisters! I think I could do it now ~ let’s go back so I can try it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

