Made to Crave: 21 (endurance)

As promised, I will share something neat that happened yesterday during my run.

I was running on a treadmill at the gym so that Matt and I could work out together, and inside, since it was pretty gross outside.

I am a nerd and I listen to podcasts while I run rather than music.  I really believe I got this from my dad, who used to pay me to read books like, “How to Win Friends and Influence People” and “The Magic of Thinking Big.”  I still love to read and am always in the middle of a book, though I don’t always pick it up every day.

Right now I’m reading EntreLeadership by Dave Ramsey.  I have no desire to start or run a business for profit, but I am running a business, a home based business.  My HOME.  There are many things in that book that I can apply to running my home but also in my life.

All that to say that I most often listen to Dave Ramsey’s podcast while I run, and yesterday was no exception.  What was exceptional was that I was listening to the podcast from Friday, September 28th, which happened to be the celebration of his 20th year on air.  He was set up in a tent in his parking lot with thousands of people around, and famous people calling in to congratulate him on a fantastic 20 years.

After one such call from Carrie Underwood, Dave (we’re on a first name basis since we’ve talked on the phone before) introduced the scripture of the day.

As he introduced it I felt compelled to pay close attention to the scripture.  Dave does this every day and I almost never pay attention to it.  It’s just part of his radio program.  But yesterday it was as if the next 30 seconds went in slow motion.

He said the reference, Romans 5:4-5, and I glanced down at my legs in the mirror for some reason, which were “loving” me at that moment for setting the incline fairly steep.

My thought was:  “Listen to the scripture today and see how you can make it apply to your life right now,” as if it was going to be a stretch to make it apply.

When he read the first part of the first phrase I was hooked: “Not only that but we rejoice in our sufferings…”

As he read that I was smiling because my legs were suffering at that moment, but more than that, I’ve “suffered” through each workout over the past four months.  I didn’t always like them, I certainly didn’t always want to do them, but I did them, and the scripture was suggesting that I rejoice in them.  The fact that I smiled while I was running was rejoicing enough, I assure you!

He continued… “knowing that suffering produces endurance…”  I was running and working hard to produce endurance.  My next goal is to run a 10 miler.  I’m not quite ready to commit to a half-marathon but I think I could manage a 10 miler in the spring.  I’m lengthening my runs, asking more experienced runners what they have done in training, and doing more intense shorter runs in an effort to produce endurance (and suffering all the while).

He continued… “endurance produces character, character hope, and hope does not put us to shame…”  All that reading my dad made me do as a kid, all the reading I do on my own, all the podcasts I listen to now are an attempt to produce a quality character.  I want to be the kind of person that other people want to be around and can trust.  According to this scripture character produces hope, which is what I want to share on my blog when I write about my parenting, my weight-journey, or our debt-experiences.  I don’t want to bring any glory to myself… I didn’t accomplish any of that on my own.  All of the things I’ve been able to accomplish have been done only in the strength of Christ!

“And hope does not put us to shame.”  All the things I’ve worked so hard on the past four months, changing my eating habits, exercising more, running farther, have been in an effort to be obedient and at first I feared failing in front of all of you.  However, this scripture removes that fear!  Starting at the beginning: sufferings produce endurance, endurance produces character, character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame!  SWEET!

There was no way I could tell Matt all of this while we ran side-by-side listening to two completely different podcasts so I decided I’d pause it.  Before I could get my iPod paused Dave went on to add a quote that also applied to the situation.  As soon as he said the author’s name I realized that this moment was, in fact, tailored to me, for just this moment.  The author?

Leonardo da Vinci!!!

It has long since come to my attention that people of accomplishment rarely sat back and let things happen to them.  They went out and happened to things.

I was so excited about what had just happened, that something so specifically for me was on the air that I paused the iPod and just ran in silence for a few minutes, savoring the moment.

And then I snapped back into the present and realized that I really do need something to keep my mind busy while running so, rather than continue the podcast and lose my place, I skipped on to the next one.

Once in the car I played the thirty second clip of the podcast back for Matt, so excited to share what God had spoken to me.

I love those moments!

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in About my faith, Made to Crave, running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

