Made to Crave: 19 (so close)

I am so close to my final goal!

As in, I’ve passed two of the previously set goals and am staring down a brand new goal that I know I can achieve.  I hit my “By December 1st” goal in September.

I am wearing a size jeans that I haven’t seen since high school, and I think when I hit my last goal I’ll be wearing a size lower than the current one.  Yesterday I went to the big mall at Ramstein and tried on some jeans in a size that I honestly don’t remember ever fitting into.  I wasn’t looking at them to purchase but just to see if I could even get them up and on, and possibly zipped.  I accomplished all of those things with no trouble, even though I don’t think they were comfortable.  If I can hit this next goal, six more pounds lost, I think I’ll comfortably fit into them!

As I was in the fitting room I was whispering to myself, “No matter what awesome restaurants are out there waiting on you to buy their food, nothing tastes as good as getting these jeans on feels!  DO NOT let the food court sirens mess your plan up.”  And as I took the boys to get lunch, I made very wise choices.  I am finally seeing that that phrase, “Nothing tastes as good as being skinny feels,” is fairly true.  Of course, I don’t think being skinny is the goal, but being healthy and at peace with myself and my choices.  I really don’t NEED the sweets I used to crave so much.  I still really enjoy them, but I am making much better choices.

Here’s an example.  Sunday we had a BBQ at church and I got a sampling of a few different deserts.  When I tasted one that looked delicious, I realized I didn’t really like it all that much.  I put it aside and ate another one.  Before, I would have finished both off “so that I didn’t waste anything,” wink wink.

This Made to Crave journey has been so incredibly rewarding and humbling.  I never ever thought I would come this far.  There have been days when I simply didn’t feel like working out.  I saw one of those very “in” photos on Pinterest the other day that I just had to share here… only I didn’t repin it so now I can’t find it.

Basically, it said something like, “What did I do when I didn’t feel like working out?  I worked out.”

Yep.  Even on days I didn’t want to.  And those were the days I really knew I was doing this in Christ’s strength and not mine.

Today I ran seven miles outside.  The me of 5 years ago would have never EVER believed it was possible.  Today I did so at a 9:44 pace.

All of these things are possible only because I want to be obedient.  I give full credit to the Lord for the encouragement He has sent my way, directly through our own quiet times, and through the many kind words spoken to me by friends and other people going through this journey themselves.  God is so good and I am so incredibly blessed.

I do hope to finish out the series before I PCS, to include my before/after picture and my stats.  I’ve asked my trainer if she’d be willing to take my measurements in November so I can have a final score, if you will.  Also, I hope knowing I have plans to have measurements taken will help me remain motivated and on target during our trip to Italy, which I am not sure I’ve mentioned up to this point.  (Just kidding!  I know you’re probably tired of hearing about it!)

And I know this picture doesn’t go with the blog post, necessarily, but I LOVE this flower and wanted to share it.  It has so many fall colors.  It’s the most beautiful fall bush EVER.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in About my faith, Made to Crave, running, weight/health. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Made to Crave: 19 (so close)

  1. Rebecca says:

    So proud of you! Wish you were Stateside as Lysa T. is going to be speaking to the ladies at my church on 11/2.

  2. Jennifer – I am grateful to be hearing about your progress – and wanting to say from my heart – that what you are doing for yourself and your health is SO good – and from someone who is struggling at the “heaviest weight” in her life – I want you to know that I admire you for your commitment and I appreciate your sharing how you have leaned on God for your endurance and support. Enjoy your travels – how exciting!!!
    What a wonderful achievement you have worked so hard for – I am smiling with you – don’t quit!
    Your Friend,
    Jen

    • Jennifer says:

      You really should get Made to Crave if you don’t have it already. It’s fantastic!

      And not so you can lose weight but find peace. That’s the main thing.

  3. Donna Castle says:

    Way to go!

Leave a Reply

