Quiet.

I’m not the kind of person who desperately needs life around me to be quiet.  I do prefer the overall volume in my house to be somewhat quiet, even considering that I live with four boys; but complete quiet is not a requirement.

When I’m doing housework, running, or driving, I like to listen to Dave Ramsey.  When I’m working on a project (like backing up tens of thousands of photos to CDs, hard drives, and Shutterfly) I prefer to listen to background music.  I rarely have absolute quiet.

I do have a major pet peeve, though.  I do NOT like to have a conversation while the TV is on.  I would rather have a conversation than see any show, so if one of my family members wants to talk, we must mute the television.  If I’m working on a project and two different forms of media are going simultaneously, I begin to twitch.  Okay, not really, but I can’t stand to have to hear the TV and a radio, or an iPod and Matt’s computer (he often watches news clips online).  Two different audios at once bugs me but other than that, noise is fine.

Today, however, I completely appreciated the silence I had between 4:15 and 4:45.  A fellow Starbucks/coffee lover returned to Wiesbaden with a treat for me and during my time of stillness, I enjoyed a cup of Pumpkin Spice coffee.  No Dave, no music, no TV, no Facebook (well, not much Facebook).  Just me, coffee, and a ticking clock.

As I sat with my fall coffee, on a day that felt like fall, having a 6 mile run behind me, with the boys playing and Parker asleep, I was in heaven.  All the frustrations of my morning decluttering session melted away to the sound of my clock ticking.  It was soothing and so needed.  I go to bed rejuvenated and ready for tomorrow’s demands… and it helps that I just spent five hours with girlfriends over a nice German meal and a small cup of Haagen-Dazs ice cream.  Really helps.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in friends, germany. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

