Moving news…

As is necessary when facing a PCS, there are steps to be taken that will help our family get from one side of the earth to the other.  This week we have gotten our DEROS set, flights scheduled, and our lodging assigned in Charleston, the place we will call home for the first few days in country.

Having those three things set in place gives me a little peace of mind.

In Italy news, one month from today I will be seeing Michelangelo’s “David.”  We have spent so much time learning about the great Renaissance artists that seeing some of their works has us all eager to hit the road!  Today I scheduled our Gallerie Borghese entrance time!  We will see some of Raphael’s works as well as Bernini’s version of “David.”  Oh, my art teachers from college would be so excited for me!

Tuesdays I typically have Aimee over for coffee and talking while the bigs rest and the babies nap.  I generally try to work out before she comes, but today I was not able to do so.  I had every intention of running or doing Insanity after she left, but I realized I needed to peel my apples before they went bad.  I pulled out my handy-dandy Pampered Chef apple peeler and turned on Dave Ramsey, and started peeling.

Before long I realized I was running out of space for my sliced apples so I quit.  I had no way of knowing that I had peeled exactly six pounds.  Guess what?!?  As I read my recipe, I found that I needed six pounds of apples to make my four pies!

I worked from 5:30-9:30.  I’m a slow, messy cook but the four hours I spent doing my pies was worth it.  On Thanksgiving I’ll be glad I did this, as I won’t have any of my kitchen items here.  As I sit here writing about my mostly-productive day, my kitchen is cleaned, three pies are in the freezer, and one was my tester pie.  Matt and I ate a slice each, and we’ll have another piece tomorrow, and then the rest is going upstairs.  Be ready, Evelyn.  Sending pie your way!

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in food/recipes, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

