Made to Crave 16: (skipping ahead)

As I scan through Chapter 8 I am realizing that I skipped ahead without meaning to!  Yesterday I closed my post with the questions I ask myself when I feel defeated:

Did I overeat?  Did I eat in secret?  Did I exercise (or if not, was it an intentional day off)?

dLysa suggests that we define our week by obedience, not by a number on the scale.  These questions are specifically useful to me today because I woke up and weighed (don’t tell my trainer) and was three pounds up from yesterday.  I hung my head in disappointment and then the words I had typed and “published” only a few hours before sprang into my mind.

These numbers do not define me.  They do not measure my worth.  I was able to answer the questions in a way that I was pleased with.  Yesterday I worked out very hard with my trainer and then ran for 25 minutes.  I had a light lunch and for dinner, instead of having pesto and pasta with the rest of the family, I had pesto and spaghetti squash.  I went to bed having burned plenty of calories and stayed under my prescribed calorie allowance.  So when I saw the number on the scale, my first reaction was disappointment.  It was a good chance for me to practice what I preach… take those thoughts captive and replace them with truth.

I exercised regularly.  I ate well.  I didn’t eat in secret or out of frustration.  I didn’t run to food (or coffee) for comfort.  And before I got on the scale I felt like I had had a successful day yesterday.  The scale does NOT define my worth.

There.

And then this morning was tough.  Tough with a moody 11-year-old and a forgetful 9 year old.  We had grumpiness reigning for about an hour which doesn’t sound like too long, but it felt like it was never-ending!  We finally passed it and I really wanted to have a second cup of coffee… I thought better of it and listened to my body.  I was tired.  Really tired.  I managed to wake up on time each day this week (5:30) and went to the gym at 6:00 two of those days.  I needed rest, so I took a nap.

I made a healthy choice!   My living room looks like a thrift store exploded as we’re sorting through outgrown clothes, and my kitchen looks like the manager of the home quit, but I feel more rested and less tempted to drown my grumpy-tired self with calories.  And now it’s time for Insanity… so those clothes and dishes will have to wait.  Again.

But I’m happy to say that we’re entering our weekend in positive spirits, rested, and almost exercised…. (I will be able to say that an hour from now.)  The clothes and dishes, miscellaneous toys and completed school work will be waiting for me in an hour…

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in About my faith, brothers/boys, family, food/recipes, Made to Crave, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Made to Crave 16: (skipping ahead)

  1. Ahhh I am so encouraged by your journey! I asked myself the questions and I could not hold my head high. Today is a new day! Please pray I will overcome laziness and DO my exercise! I will pray for your journey as well !

    • Jennifer says:

      Michelle,, thank you for your kind words. I have had days I couldn’t answer those questions well, and the best part is I don’t have guilt anymore. Just a willingness to try again and do better the next day. Usually by this point I have quit. Figured I’ve arrived and could go back to my old habits and ways of eating and I drop my exercise routine like it was only something I needed to do until I lost some weight. This time I hope to continue. 🙂

  2. Christy says:

    How was the spaghetti squash? Does it taste okay? How do you prepare it? You should do more posts on healthy recipes, because now that I’m eating healthier I don’t know what to make for dinner.

    • Jennifer says:

      I was really pleased with it. If you eat it alone it will taste a little like butternut squash (which I love.) If you cover it with spaghetti sauce or pesto sauce (like I did) you really can’t tell it’s not spaghetti by taste.

      I may have over cooked it and it got a little mushy but still, the “noodles” were all individual and held up just fine.

      I’m sharing Heather Aliano’s tips here: Cut in half long ways, place meat-side down on a plate and microwave 5-10 minutes until the meat is soft. Scoop out seeds and discard. Take a fork to the good stuff and it’ll separate like noodles. Coolest thing ever!

      I will add recipe posts as I get them. I think tonight I’m making Apple-Honey drumsticks. Hope they turn out well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

