Made to Crave 13: (August update)

I’m sitting here at 9:30 pm after two hours of pouring over Rome’s transit maps, trying to make sense of the mess.  I want to try to have each step of the way mapped out so I don’t have to worry when I’m there.  I’d rather spend the time now figuring out what bus/metro/electric bus to take when we want to go from place to place instead of when I’m standing in the middle of Rome with my camera bag around my neck, map in hand, and five confused males waiting for direction.  (I’m the tour guide on these trips.)

A few minutes ago it hit me that I had forgotten to post today’s blog and I thought I’d update you on both our ITALY trip and my “Made to Crave” progress.

Sweet cup and saucer from a friend in honor of my upcoming dream vacation!  (Note the Metro map to the left, the spiral notebook to the right, and the pencil and high-lighter very handy.)

I have our Rome days scheduled out and will start purchasing passes and tickets soon.  I want to get this part done so I can focus on Venice.  Be still my heart…

And as for an update on my “Made to Crave” journey, I’m still plugging along.  I’ve gone down to only doing two-a-day workouts twice a week, though I’m getting close enough to my goal that I might jump back on to 5x a week to sprint to the finish line.

I’ve lost a total of 25 pounds since early May, though I really got started in earnest in early June.  I had a goal to reach in my mind that I have now decided I can beat.  I’m only three pounds away from the original goal.  I’ve lowered my goal another ten pounds, which means I want to lose another 13.  While at Edelweiss I bought a new shirt that I was amazed fit me! It was a new size!  It has plenty of wiggle room in it and that still amazes me.

I had purchased two pairs of shorts in my new size in June and they are now so big that they’re falling off.  I have to wear a belt with them or they get on my nerves!  When I put the belt on, they bunch up and I have to spread the excess material around so that it’s less obvious that my pants are too big!  This is HUGE people!  I am having a hard time believing these results, but I’m appreciating them so much.

Aimee asked me recently how long I am going to continue to eat this strictly.  I don’t know. I didn’t have an answer for her, except that I’m thinking that this is my new normal.  I haven’t lost a lot of weight in the past 2-3 weeks, which is fine, as long as I remind myself that the slower it comes off, the longer-lasting the results will be.  I also think that my new diet/exercise routine is keeping me at a steady weight, therefore, this must be the perfect balance for my body.  “This” many calories and “that” much exercise… which is why I’m considering going back to two-a-day workouts for a few more weeks: to jump start the loss to my new goal and then, ease back into what I’m doing currently.

 

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in About my faith, food/recipes, Made to Crave, travel, weight/health. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Made to Crave 13: (August update)

  1. Beth T. says:

    Jenn,
    Congrats! Now I need to do the same thing,too!
    About Rome- don’t buy a ticket for a guided tour of the Colosseum outside, where all the guys in gladiator costumes stand around. Go inside the passageway to the official tour booth where you
    can get an english tour much cheaper.

    Have fun,
    Beth

Leave a Reply

