Army Friends

I can’t believe I didn’t take pictures this weekend!  Honestly, I was on full “relaxation mode” and in pajamas most of the time, and so my camera never even came out of my camera bag.  I cheated and snapped a picture of this flower my iPhone.

Last weekend we met some of our friends from Colorado at “Little America” and had lunch together.  While there, we realized both of our husbands were going to be out of town this weekend so we planned a sleep over at their house.  We never needed to do this while in CO because we lived just a few townhomes away.  Now, we live about two hours apart.

This weekend proved that time has not damaged our friendships and the two moms sat over multiple cups of coffee while eight children played happily without ever fighting.  Yvonne had prepared a homemade, Puerto Rican dish that I could not pronounce, much less ever recreate!  It was so good I stole leftovers to bring home!

As we fed our kids (seated at multiple tables and trays spread across the dining and living rooms) we enjoyed a meal that warmed our tummies and our hearts.  Time has changed the kids into BIGS and since we last met together, I’ve added one more kiddo to the mix.  The ease with which Yvonne and I chatted has not changed.   Our conversation reminded me of one of the precious joys I experienced during deployment:  getting to know my amazing fellow-Army wives and seeing the strength the Lord gave us being passed between us as we did our best to take care of one another.  Her oldest daughter, now 11, was the perfect babysitter for Parker, whom I saw very little of.  The “big” boys (all 5 of them, well, six when you count the non-English speaking neighbor who came to play for most of the time we were there) shot Nerf guns, jumped on the trampoline, watched movies, or played Wii games.  It didn’t matter that they hadn’t seen each other for practically three years.

I love this Army life.

Because we were having so much fun, we didn’t get to bed until after 1:30 am… that meant we slept until after 8:30 this morning.  We stayed as long as we could this afternoon, knowing that tomorrow is my turn to volunteer in Children’s Church.  I think had that not been on my calendar, we would have extended our stay… I hope not overstaying our welcome!

We left their house tired, but happy to know that we have another date or two to visit on the calendar before our PCS.

(As I sit here and write, Bailey is heating up some of Yvonne’s rice.  He just came to me and said, “You know that rice that Yvonne made?  If you ever get the recipe, you can make some for Evelyn and her family (my current super-awesome neighbors) because they would love it!”)

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, friends, germany. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Army Friends

  1. Pingback: A Surprise for Christian | thehamricks

  2. Pingback: Starbucks Mugs | thehamricks

Leave a Reply

