Made to Crave: 9 (motivation)

I am sitting here on the balcony of my Edelweiss hotel enjoying the cool air.  66̊ and I’m loving it!  It’s a bit cloudy and and there’s a slight breeze blowing the four flags out front: I see the Bavarian, German, and American flags as well as the POW/MIA flag.

A day like this and a view like this could put me in a good mood about anytime of the year.  But today I’m even more excited and I can’t wait to tell you why!

This morning I walked over to the PX with the boys while Matt led a Single’s Retreat. While there I decided to try on a few shirts that were a size smaller than my “new” size, which means that they were two sizes smaller than my “starting” size.  All of them FIT!  And well!  I have not worn that size since my early years in college!

I know in Made to Crave Lysa TerKeurst assures us that our happiness shouldn’t come from our size or a number on the scale.  I agree and I do know that joy isn’t related to my weight-loss-getting-healthy success.  However, putting on those shirts and looking at the stranger in my mirror was enough to make this girl happy!  When I left the dressing room and gathered my ducklings I pulled them in closely and shared my good news.  I got three half-hearted smiles… yea… they would have been more excited if I had told them I had seen a snake in the dressing room!

I didn’t buy anything because, for the first time since forEVER, I had more items in my hand that fit me than didn’t!  Usually I will take 10 things in a fitting room and come out with only one that worked… the decision then is whether or not I want to spend the money on that particular item.  Today, I took in six items and five worked.  The decision has now turned into which one do I want?!?  I needed the opinion of a girlfriend, but they’re all scattered across the world so I later took Matt back and he helped me make a decision.  I would have liked to buy all of them but my clothing envelope only had so much in it.  (No joke… I do carry envelopes with cash in them for the things we need/want.)  I even tried on a pair of jean shorts in a size smaller (again, two sizes down from the starting size) and they fit perfectly!  I’m not paying $39 for a pair of jean shorts so I left those there, as well.

Later this week I am going to have Hayden take a picture of Matt and me since this is our last visit to Garmsich.  I am going to wear my new shirt and show you my selection!

On the way back to the hotel I told Matt that, while I am excited to share this with the you, I don’t want it to come across as a boastful thing.  It is NOT, I do assure you.  I want to share this because for one, this is my journal and this is where I write about the things that happen in my life.  I also want to share it because there are many people who are interested in making a change in their lifestyle.  I ASSURE YOU:  If I can do it, anyone can!

So while I don’t think ultimate happiness can be brought to me by being a smaller size, I do believe that part of today’s happiness is a direct result of the success I’ve seen.  I realized yesterday that I haven’t really done much “dressing up” in the past few weeks.  A friend asked me when I was going to post a picture on Facebook and my response was, “When I put make up on!”  My current lifestyle has been such that I don’t have to get dressed and pretty to go anywhere except for Sundays.  While I did get to wear a fun pair of pants on Sunday, for the most part, I’ve been in my pjs and workout clothes for the past month.  Being here at Edelweiss I’m kind of forced to make myself presentable on a daily basis.  The first day we were here I put on my bathing suit to take the boys swimming.  When I was here in May with my parents, it was tight.  Now, it’s baggy!  First thing Matt said when he saw me in it was, “Your suit is too big, huh?!?”  Yes sir, it is!  And I wasn’t even sucking in my belly!  Getting to go to the PX and try on clothes was motivating beyond description and it makes going to the buffet and ignoring the siren call of the carbs much easier.

I am looking forward to my treat:  chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream.  I’ve decided I want to have it on Monday evening…  not sure why.  Maybe I just want to have something extra special to look forward to on our very last night here.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in About my faith, Made to Crave, weight/health. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Made to Crave: 9 (motivation)

  1. Joleen Hyatt says:

    You’re motivating me from the other side of the world! I ordered my “Made to Crave” book on Friday and it arrived today. Can’t wait to start it tomorrow morning! Good job!!! Hope you enjoyed your Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream! Waiting for pictures!

    • Jennifer says:

      Yesterday was a super fun, perfect, long day at the Eagle’s Nest and Salzburg so I never got to have my ice cream! We’re going to go today after we check out of the hotel.

      So glad you got your book. Highlight, date, and take notes, then you can go back in a year and see what changes God has made in your heart, mind, and even body! That’s the only downside of reading it on iPad… I can do those things, but it’s not my favorite way… I love books with paper…

      Oh, and RIGHT NOW, take a “before” picture. I took one and can already see quite a difference. It wasn’t a before picture I’ll be posting anywhere as I was in spandex minus the tee shirt and shorts I wear over the spandex work out in… But it’ll be something for me to look back on.

Leave a Reply

