Pesto Perfection

I have been making this pesto for a few years to go with Pesto Cavatappi, or the meal my family calls, “Shrek Noodles.”  A while ago I decided to try to make a double batch to see if it would freeze well, and it worked beautifully!

Making Pesto Cavatappi is a tedious process, but most of the pain is in the making of the pesto!  So, I decided this time that if I were going to go through the mess to make it once, I’d do a triple batch.  LOVED IT!

I set aside one batch to use the next night for Pesto Cavatappi and put the other two batches in small ziplock freezer bags, removing as much air as possible.  Now, the next two times I make our favorite family meal, I have much less work to do.

Ingredients for Pesto 
Basil Leaves – 1 cup (I package from Commissary)
Garlic – 3 cloves
Whole Pepper – 5 to 6 (I use the kind you grind as you use, to taste)
Pine nuts – 1 package, toasted
Salt – to taste
Parmesan cheese – ¼ c grated (less or more… however much you like)
Olive oil – 4 tbsp – or to desired consistency.

Directions:
Toast the pine nuts by putting them in a small frying pan on medium heat until they’re lightly browned, stirring frequently.
Grate the parmesan cheese.
Put garlic in food processor and pulse.
Add pine nuts to food processor and pulse.
Add basil leaves to food processor and pulse, stopping to scrape sides of bowl when necessary.
Add in other ingredients until it tastes just right and has the perfect consistency!

There are many recipes you can use pesto in, but we haven’t branched out past Pesto Cavatappi yet.

(NOTE:  This recipe is for a single batch.  Triple these quantities if you want to make a triple batch.  My food processor wouldn’t hold a triple batch during the first stages so I actually put all the ingredients together and split it into two batches.  At the last minute I blended them together in the food processor to be sure I had three batches that were exactly the same.  Then, I split them into three even portions.)

 

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in food/recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pesto Perfection

  1. Mary says:

    What’s the size of the package of pine nuts? This sounds like a great recipe – I love pesto!

    • Jennifer says:

      I use a 60g bag per batch of pesto. Converted, that’s 2.11 ounces. (And unless you want to be addicted, do NOT taste one of the warm, toasted pine nuts before you put it in the blender. I usually “taste” 5-10 in the process. They’re SO GOOD!!!)

    • Jennifer says:

      I use a 60g bag per batch of pesto. Converted, that’s 2.11 ounces. (And unless you want to be addicted, do NOT taste one of the warm, toasted pine nuts before you put it in the blender. I usually “taste” 5-10 in the process. They’re SO GOOD!!!)

  2. Pingback: Butterflies vs. moths. | thehamricks

Leave a Reply

