Purple Flower

The art of distraction is one moms world-wide must master.  It can help a curious toddler forget all about the poorly concealed rebar just ten feet away from the playground; rebar that seems way more interesting than the colorful equipment designed specifically for children.  Last night while the bigs were at the skate park, Matt and I were too comfortable at the picnic table to run over and physically remove Parker from the area that looked to be less-than-safe for a two-year-old.  I glanced around to see what I could use to lure him back toward us and saw some flowers behind me.  In a half-hearted effort, not expecting it to work, I said, “LOOK, Parker!!  Flowers!!”  His little blonde head popped up and he looked at me.  Matt then said, “Parker!  There’s a purple flower!”  Surprisingly, it worked. Parker, swinging that left arm, marched right over to us and started picking flowers, and before long he saw the one, single purple flower.

He gave me his purple flower. He loves his mama!

I love how Parker “smells” flowers with his mouth.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, parker. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Purple Flower

  1. smilindown says:

    that last shot is GORGEOUS!

    • Jennifer says:

      Thank you! Coming from you, I consider that a high compliment! I admire your photography so much, I’m going to make this my header on my blog!

  2. Joleen Hyatt says:

    The next to the last picture was my favorite!!! Melts this Nana’s heart. :o) Miss my little guy.

  3. Pingback: Beautiful Purple Flowers | thehamricks

Leave a Reply

