Thirteen years

I’ve been married for thirteen years.  It doesn’t seem possible.

I asked Matt the other day if he ever starts day dreaming and then, when he “comes to” is shocked at where he finds himself.  I explained my question like this:  “You know how you can get into a movie so much that you feel like you’re there.  Then, when it’s over, you come back to reality and look around, thankful for the relatively calm life you live?”  I explained that sometimes I will start thinking about our lives “way back when” and I will feel sort of like I’m watching a movie.  I’ll remember our days in college, walking across GWU’s gorgeous quad to class or to Dimensions…  the meals we ate in the cafeteria… the classes we took together (thanks, babe, for taking Recreational Dance with me because I had to and because you needed an elective).  I’ll remember our hours driving to Charlotte to see a movie in a nice theater with reclining seats and floors that were less sticky than those in the Shelby Mall’s theater.  Then, all of a sudden, someone in my day dream will ask their mom a question and she doesn’t answer… and then that person taps me on the shoulder.  It’s at that point that I am reminded that I am the mom and that person is one of my children.  Children.  I have four of them!  Instantly I go from being a 19 year old college student madly in love with a tennis player/youth pastor to the mother of four sons who lives in GERMANY, of all places.  And the one constant is that I am still madly in love with that same guy.  Only now he plays much less tennis and his “youth” now carry weapons and fight wars.  

Matt said that does sometimes happen to him… I bet it happens to most of us.  How in the world did 13 years past so quickly.  For those of you who are in your early years of marriage (or are close to it… Mindy), date.  DATE.  Often and intentionally.  Even when the date is the same date you’ve had hundreds of times (dinner and a movie… or just dinner or just a movie, if you’re trying to get out of debt or stay there).  Staying in sync with your husband/wife is worth every ounce of effort it takes to, thirteen years later, still be madly in love with the same person you fell in love with.

So, when asked what we did for our thirteenth wedding anniversary, we didn’t have a huge story to tell.  In fact, we basically went to Nuremberg to see some historical sites as a family.  We have a date night planned for Friday and I look forward.  It’s been a long time since Matt and I had a just-the-two-of-us date!  I wonder where we’re going…

Matt gave me white roses and a beautiful card on our anniversary… he’s amazing.

P.S.  Just seconds ago I received an email from Jessica Ceason that says our session photos are available for viewing!  I can’t wait to see them and I will share them with you soon.  I bet she has one of me and my favorite in there!

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in germany, marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

