Tennis Tournament: Carson

Oh Carson, my tender-hearted son.  He, like Bailey, started his day out by playing around on the courts with friends.  I believe, had he understood how tournaments work, especially single elimination tournaments, he would have played a little harder.  At the end of the day, I caught some tears welling up in his eyes.  To find out what was really going on, I had to pry it out of him.  He wasn’t so much upset that he had lost but sad that he only got to play one match.  I was really proud that he wasn’t having a bad attitude or being a poor sport, but rather was disappointed that he had only gotten to play one match.  He was learning how to lose in that moment.  It still broke my heart.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in brothers/boys. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

