Beans officially spilled…

We arrived home from our England trip later than expected, thanks to traffic in France and Belgium.  By late, I mean 1:45 a.m. and when I finally went to bed at three o’clock, my parents were to arrive only five hours later.  I was really glad we had cleaned the house and prepared for their arrival before we left!

As I mentioned before, I had a little surprise for them.   I’m horrible at surprises and have done really good at protecting this one.  As you can imagine from the title of this post, I messed up, and I was SO close to making it!

Before I tell you what happened, here are two collages.  In the first one you will see the boys running to their Nana and Papa at the airport.  I always love that moment!  In the second one you will see mom and dad opening their gift, even though I had already let the cat out of the bag.  See if you can tell what the surprise is by the things in the photos.

Here’s how it went down:
We were in a friend’s van when we picked my parents up at the airport and we all commented on how nice it is to be able to fit in one vehicle together.  I actually said once that I had been tempted to ask to borrow it for Edelweiss but the owner actually needed it for her own trip to Garmisch.  That comment brought Hayden flying out of the van saying something that I couldn’t understand, so I brushed it off as him being silly.

Five minutes later the van topic came up and I said something else… and it was over!  I realized I had told them we were going to Edelweiss and the kids were fake-mad that I had told them!

Regardless, Nana and Papa are very excited and looking forward to this part of their vacation.  In fact, they had come to Germany with hopes of seeing Neuschwanstein and Linderhof, specifially, and were going to research how to get down there for a few days!

We’re thrilled and love how God planned this trip to be a fun surprise for them and also fulfill part of their wish-list.  We get a week of fun here, celebrating Hayden’s birthday this weekend, and then we go to Edelweiss to celebrate Mother’s Day.

Inside the bag was a miniature replica of Neuschwanstein, two postcards of that castle, and a deck of playing cards with the Garmish card sticking out.  I hate I didn’t get to see their faces reflect surprise as they opened these gifts but as you can see, their faces did reflect excitement and joy.  While I am kicking myself for spilling the beans, I’m just happy they’re here!

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in brothers/boys, family, germany. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Beans officially spilled…

  1. southrnbelle8998 says:

    How wonderful!!!!!

  2. Andrea says:

    I’m glad you are having this chance to spend Mother’s Day together and to top it off, you will be in Garmish!!!

  3. Pingback: Nana and Papa go on a Marriage Retreat | thehamricks

Leave a Reply

