Lemon Wonder

Yes, I’m about to reveal a fabulous recipe.  Probably not exactly what you’re expecting, though.

I wrote yesterday about hard water stains in my toilet.  That’s not the only place I have issues with hard water.  In fact, I actually ruined a dishwasher because I didn’t put the special salt in it.  (It died within 8 months… I now REGULARLY put in the salt, I assure you.)

The toilets were embarrassing, and I’m so thankful I got them taken care of.  (My mom is coming in soon and I am glad to present to her brand-new-looking toilets!)

There was one other problem area in my house, plagued by hard water stains.  My bathroom sink fixture.  It got so bad that Matt actually said something about it.  After I had such success with the toilet I decided to be smart and take a “before” picture.  Here you go:

This faucet gets cleaned every day, in theory… I’m a flailing Flybaby.  In reality, it gets cleaned five days a week.  So it’s not dirty even though it looks really gross.  It’s just horribly stained.

I found the following “recipe” on Pinterest at broccoli cupcake.  

1.  white vinegar
2.  a lemon
3.  baking soda

Working the tight spaces:

The majority of the hard water stains were removed with little effort leaving only a ring of green gunk for me to tackle with the baking soda and white vinegar.

I let the baking soda and vinegar bubble and fizz, and then I used the back (dull) side of the knife and lightly scraped the green gunk off.  I didn’t have to use a lot of elbow grease after letting the two things do their trick.

And the final result:

And as a bonus, here’s the “Before” and the “Step One” picture of the boys’ bathtub faucet.  I’ll eventually get in there and take a final result picture.  (First I need to get in there and actually do the last step.)

I cannot believe I am using food items in cleaning my bathrooms.  I have to admit, they work better than any of the cleaners I’ve tried on these hard water stains.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in nifty tricks. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lemon Wonder

  1. Oh good tip. My faucet is starting to look like this, not so much in the tub. Better nip it in the butt now!

  2. Pam M. says:

    Going to try this!

  3. Beth T. says:

    After 3 3/4 years here I am soo glad to know how to clean the hard water stains !
    Now,how do you do the toilets?
    Beth T.

  4. Deb Schroeder says:

    Well, I should have read all of your posts before I asked the question. There is hope for my toilets and facets! Yea!

Leave a Reply

