Application to Adulthood: Submitted

Matt and I have been getting our grown-up documents in order over the past few years. We have a will, but need an updated one that actually reflects that Parker is in existence. We have a waterproof fire safe and it holds our passports and such, but were something to happen to both Matt and myself, no one in the world would know how to get into it.

While I was looking at Dave Ramsey’s website to determine how much per month we need to be saving for the boys’ college educations (a totally different grown-up activity), I noticed something off to the side that I had heard Dave mention:  a Legacy Drawer.

The boys were all situated doing their school work and I decided I’d click on that link and noticed he had fancy forms all ready for me to print out.  I think these forms are specifically for those who are subscription members of his website.  If you aren’t a member, he still has a list of all the things he recommends you have in the drawer; the forms are just frills, but I like them!

I spent an hour going through the fire safe listing what is inside.  I printed out things that were on the computer and online that a person taking over our lives would need.  When I got it all organized I emailed a few people with information regarding where the fire safe key is kept, where the safe is, and what the Legacy Drawer is.

Below is our budget with post it notes that explain everything.  If something were to happen to me (the nerd) Matt would be able to pick up and handle things as usual.  If something were to happen to both of us, this form would be less important as my parents would assimilate the life insurance policies into their own budgets.  (Yes, it’s blurry on purpose.)

All that information neatly put into a folder.

If your were to open our Legacy Drawer (or Legacy Fire Safe) this is what you’d see.

All closed up, fire and water proof.  (When purchasing a fire safe, be sure to select one that is also water proof.  Most documents that are kept inside fire safes withstand the fire but are then damaged due to the water used to put out the fire.)

Here is what Dave’s website says about the Legacy Drawer:

Every household needs a Legacy Drawer. It doesn’t matter if you’re single with no kids or 76 and have 12 grandkids—you need a Legacy Drawer. It’s the last gift you will give your family, so make it a good one. If you truly care about your loved ones, you will take the time to create a Legacy Drawer.

The drawer should be somewhere in your home and contain everything your spouse or family needs to know if you aren’t around—anything that has to do with your financial life should be in that drawer. You must organize it in a way that anyone can find a specific document in 30 seconds. All files should be clearly marked, in order, and easy for a grieving family member to find. There’s no need to go into extreme detail when creating your Legacy Drawer. Simply include the appropriate documents in an easy-to-understand format, and you’re good to go!

If you’re interested in the forms that make the Legacy Drawer so cool, I can send you a “Challenge” and you’ll get 30 days to try out the website for free.  If you’re interested, comment below and I’ll get it emailed out!  If I had already completed Baby Step 7 I would have some kind of prize or drawing at the end for any of my friends who completed this!

As it is, please consider accepting my challenge.  Being a grown-up means sometimes doing things that we would rather pretend aren’t necessary.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Application to Adulthood: Submitted

  1. Pam M. says:

    I accept the challenge. Donnie would have no idea where anything was or what to do if something happened to me. Please send me the 30 day free access. Thanks!

  2. Heidi says:

    Hi Jen, Can you please send that to me too when you get a chance? Thank you so much!! Still praying for you guys!

    • Jennifer says:

      Done. It’s odd to be thinking about our funeral arrangements but at least we’ve now discussed it. We even got the okay to have our memorial services at the chapel of the University we attended. That was an odd phone call to make. “Hey, if I die, I can I have my family use your chapel for my memorial service?” Yep. That was weird.

  3. jmbcc says:

    Very well said Jennifer. I think I am already a member on his site but will you send me the challenge anyway, just in case please. Thanks!

  4. Jennifer says:

    I officially got my Last Will and Testament as well as my Living Will completed and placed in our Legacy Drawer last week. It took a while with family visiting and traveling around England, but I got it done! It’s a great feeling!!

  5. cheryl Hathaway says:

    Hey Jennifer, hope all is well with your family. I started a spreadsheet that had passwords and account numbers, etc about 2 years ago, but it needs to be updated and would like to have free access for 30 days if this is still available. You are motivating me to get my will, living trust, etc in order. I keep putting it off. Also, reading your blog about being debt free and working up the baby steps is motivating. We have been debt free for sometime. Well, minus the mortgage. We made a huge mistake and purchased a house right before the bubble burst and we were under water for a while. We refinanced for 15 year mortgage and would love to pay it off before then if possible. We have been stuck on baby step 4 for the longest time and cant seem to even accomplish putting away 15% of gross income away. I would love to talk more about our struggles concerning this and find out what your thoughts are.

    • Jennifer says:

      I do think it’s still available. I’ll email it directly to you.

      Glad you’re doing this. It’s not fun. In fact, it’s downright annoying, but so worth it.

      If I had to guess, your struggles are tied to the budget. Not doing a budget before every single paycheck. (Dave Ramsey suggests doing it once a month but Matt and I do it every 2 weeks since we’re paid then.)

      Reply in more detail to my soon-to-be-sent email and let me know what I need to know to possibly help. (I’m not trained in this stuff… I just love the topic and listen to DR every day!)

  6. Pingback: 366 | thehamricks

Leave a Reply

