How Clearly I Hear Him…

I’ve said before that the way I most clearly hear the Lord speaking to me is when I hear something over and over again, confirming what I felt Him say in my Spirit.

Since we arrived here I’ve known we were going to take the boys to the Anne Frank House. Realizing that we’re down to 9 months to our DEROS I started panicking… The only way we are going to fit everything in that we want to do is to start DOING.

And that’s whey I stuck Amsterdam on the calendar. We leave in 2 days!

I reserved as many Anne Frank resources as I could find at our library. I borrowed the book, “The Diary of a Young Girl” from a friend and have been reading it to the boys. I’m previewing books and allowing them access to the ones I think are age appropriate and protecting their eyes as much as possible from the worst of the worst. I will tell them in advance that they may see some difficult things at the museum, but the pictures of piles of bodies in one of the books I have is a bit much for right now. It’s a bit much for me and my heart hurts. I remember when I first learned of the Holocaust in high school: it forever rocked my world. I couldn’t imagine that this could have happened.

Just before I clicked, “Confirm,” on our hotel, I worried that maybe we were rushing into this. Maybe we should wait. The 9 month DEROS date encouraged me to go ahead.

And then the confirmation came. Peace. Instead of an uneasy feeling that we had made the wrong decision, I felt peace. That peace that passes understanding. It’s enough of a confirmation to me and so I rested in that.

And then yesterday tangible, well, actually audible, confirmation came as I drove from the airport to the hospital listening to the Dave Ramsey Show. He rarely has guests on his show but did on the date of the show I was listening to. The guest was the author of a book titled, How Do You Kill 11 Million People.

At first I wasn’t sure if he was referring to the holocaust but I was immediately interested. It was a fabulous interview and I will be reading that book ASAP. As soon as I read it I’ll share with you if I think it’s as amazing as I expect it to be.

Here is the link to the article on Dave’s website.

Here is the link to the conversation between him and Dave Ramsey! I found it on Andy Andrew’s website so you can listen to it in full!

And here you can buy the book. (Also on Dave’s site for a limited time offer of $12.95.)

I have been listening to these podcasts for years I’ve never heard him discuss the holocaust. But to hear him do so 4 days before we go see Anne Frank’s house, right in the midst of our studying of the subject, I knew it was the Lord saying to me, “I planned this. You’re just taking the right steps.”

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to How Clearly I Hear Him…

  1. Ruth says:

    I LOVE Anne Frank! I make it a point to read her book every year and I have researched her EXTENSIVELY! Please, take pics and blog! Hope you have a wonderful time.

  2. Ruth says:

    P.S. I am glad you’re making it a point to visit and tell your kids about the holocaust. My grandpa’s job during WWII was to help liberate concentration camps. He witnessed first-hand the atrocities committed and documented them in pictures. He and I are FURIOUS to know there are colleges and universities (just a handful, but still!) that are currently teaching the holocaust was a lie and was blown completely out of proportion. They even say pics like my grandpa took are false and are “made up,” essentially calling first-hand witnesses and victims blatant liars.

  3. We didn’t go there because of the inappropriate material stuff and the lines. We went to the Corrie Ten Boom house and it was phenomenal. Have fun! Amsterdam is like home to me. (My family came from Holland and Belgium and I have cousins that are missionaries in the Red Light district) I would go back in a heartbeat. Unfortunately I have 28 days left in Germany. Have a blast.

    • Jennifer says:

      It’s definitely something we’re approaching with caution, and we are going to the Corrie Ten boom house as well. We will be avoiding the Red Light district for sure.

  4. Debbie says:

    Our family went last year, and both of the kids enjoyed Anne Frank, and read the information closely. The canal boats are fun too, and there are canal stops at the train station, Anne Frank, and the Hard Rock Cafe and museums.

    • Jennifer says:

      We are going to do a canal bike instead of a boat tour. The boat tours were just too expensive for this trip. (We were TRYING to make this a cheap trip… it’s already gone over budget and we haven’t even left.)

  5. We looked at the website of the hiding place and the annex. Wonderful site. I can’t wait to read your posts about Amsterdam.

  6. Holly says:

    If you haven’t already, you may want to check out http://www.ushmm.org/museum/exhibit/exhibit/#02-daniel

    It’s a link on the US Holocaust Museum in D.C. to their permanent children’s exhibit – David’s Story – appropriate for elementary / middle school children. Reviewed by psychologists and educators.

Leave a Reply

