What a day…

Today. Hmm. I don’t know exactly what to think about today.

I had to say good-bye to a dear family today.  Seriously, I don’t like this part of my life.  This past week has been a whirlwind of craziness for the R family but, with the help of several friends and some seriously hard work on their part, they got orders, packed a 4 story house, and got on a plane, all within 5 days.  The timeframe was insane, but they managed.  I am VERY grateful for a friend who watched all four of my boys for a few hours so that Matt and I could drop of friends in both cars to the airport.  It will be hard to go to chapel tomorrow and know they’re not leading a Bible Study or brewing coffee for our after-service coffee bar.

When I first woke up this morning (at 9:30, to be exact) I saw that I had missed a text from Aimee and I knew that it was probably bad news.  Her little one had shown pretty obvious symptoms of a stomach virus the night before, but during the night, things had gotten pretty bad.

With her symptoms, I agreed with her decision to take Kayla to the ER.  I prepared her for them to put an IV in to alleviate dehydration, assuring her that Kayla would feel much better as a result.  (I’ll never forget the relief I got from an IV when I was severely dehydrated as a result of a stomach bug during my pregnancy with Parker.  LOVED ME some IV!)  Of course, Aimee had already prepared herself for that probability, but I wanted to offer what comfort I could… knowing how much better I felt afterwards I know that, should I ever have to see my child get one put in, I would know the relief would be worth it.

After I dropped the R family off at the airport I headed straight for the hospital.  First I saw Baby E who was born 6 weeks early.  He’s cute and FAT for a premie!  I then headed across the hall to Kayla’s room and she ate for me.  Almost a whole yogurt cup!!  She took a good long nap on her mommy while we talked, finally catching up after what has been a crazy week for both of us.  After a few hours I said my good-byes to them and headed home to cook “Soy-Honey Chicken.”  (I need to perfect this recipe before I post it.  I also want a cooler name.)

Matt and I had company coming for dinner and they taught us a new card game: Golf.  I lost horribly but it was still a good evening.  (They brought Lemon cake… oh. my… so good!)

As far as journal entries go, this one is mostly a “what happened today” kind of thing.  That’s okay with me… all three of these events touched me deeply:  saying good-bye; seeing Kayla in the hospital; and meeting new friends.  It was a day in my life.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in friends, germany. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What a day…

  1. My goodness, full day for you! I spent the evening with my littlest in the ER as well last eve. His first IV and I’m not sure which of us cried more. 😦 He’s got that darned tummy bug and so do I. Horrible stuff it is UGH. Hope it’s a bit saner in the morrow for you.

  2. Pam M. says:

    Sounds like a hard day…rough on the emotions…goodbyes, sick children and losing terribly at a card game (smile). I think you need a hug across the miles. I know you are the one giving and giving and feeling too rushed sometimes to process the emotions. You are a great friend and pray-er and I am sure that your friends (all of them) appreciate that about you, friend! Love you

  3. Sheri says:

    Wow Jennifer, what a week. I thought I had seen an earlier post this week about Beth giving birth. Didn’t realize how early she was only that when I last saw her she wasn’t that big. Please offer my help to her or Aimee if they need anything, I am grateful to assist. That is an amazing turn around for the Ray’s. We have done this process with 14 days and I can’t imagine what it would be like on less than a full week.

  4. Jackie says:

    Great post Jennifer. I hope this coming week allows you some time to relax. You sure deserve it.

  5. christina says:

    Jennifer,
    Thank you so much for being a part of my last day in Germany. I have appreciated your friendship and will miss you greatly. Thanks for all your help this week.
    Love,
    Christina 🙂

    • Jennifer says:

      I was more than happy to help and, honestly, don’t think I did much. I felt bad that I couldn’t offer more time during the earlier part of the week but I love how God knew who could/should do what and when. It all worked out perfectly, though I know you might would have preferred to have more time from the date orders dropped until the date you were on a plane. That really was insane!
      We already miss you here in WI.
      ~Jen

Leave a Reply

