Be still.

I bet there are thousands of posts about this exact topic out there.   I haven’t looked because at this point I’m less interested in what God has said to others about it and more interested in what He has to say to ME about it.  That’s what I love about my faith.  I fully believe that God is always talking to me and that He cares about what I am doing both in the big picture and in each tiny piece of this puzzle called life.  This morning I was sitting in my quiet time and the very first thing I read was the scripture printed in the side margin of my journal: “The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” Exodus 14:14.

I don’t currently find myself in a fight and for that I’m grateful.  I’ve had my seasons, that’s for sure.  I do have several friends who are in major personal battles right now and I want them to know that the Lord will fight for them.  They can rest.

One of my friends shared a story last night at our Bible study that really touched me.  One afternoon she felt the Lord telling her to rest and so she did.  In spite of the fact that she’s moving within two weeks and still has no idea exactly when, she rested.  In spite of the fact that she’s homeschooling, she rested.  In spite of a dozen other “fights” going on in her life, she rested. And even before she got the rest, the moment she decided to rest, she felt a peace fall on her spirit because she had obeyed.

After hearing her share that story, reading the scripture I mentioned above really touched me. It became a truth rather than just words on a page of an ancient book. We don’t have to fight. We need only to be still.

I have another friend in the pre-labor stages, just trying to keep Baby E in for a few more days.  This scripture can applied to her current situation.  Be still.  The Lord will fight for you.

So many people dealing with sickness, everything from cancer to sinus congestion.  Be still.  The Lord will fight for you.

Today has been a whirl-wind of a day, and I haven’t even left the house.  It started with Parker waking up in dire need of a bath.  The reason?  Poop up his back.  That doesn’t happen often, thank GOODNESS!  The morning went smoothly enough, and I decided to get my Insanity done early so that I could go visit the momma of Baby E.  Aimee and I are swapping child care so that we can each go kidless.  While I was feeding the brood, her little one finished and got angry at me for not giving her cereal instead of lunch, Parker refused to eat a single bite and decided to poke at Kayla’s shoes which really ticked Kayla off, the bigs were doing chores all around me while I sat and tried to eat my fancy-schmancy Tomato-Basil Parmesan Soup. It was not quite the pleasant dining experience one would expect to have while eating a meal with such a gourmet name.

Once the bigs retreated to their rooms, I sat watching the babies play in the living room.  They were happily coloring while Thomas was on in the background.  Then Parker stood up and made the sound that all little boys pride themselves in, but it was different.  I knew.  I picked him up and held him at arms length while walking as quickly as I could to his room.  Fortunately at that time Carson came out and asked a question. I quickly put him to work starting a bath and changing the clothes in the dryer to a basket, and from the washer to the dryer.  As I worked on the mess that had, once again, gone up the back, Kayla played happily in the room.  (How in the world she managed to stay in the room, I don’t know.  I had no choice, you see.  She did!)

10 baby wipes later Parker was clean enough to enter the tub, where I once again assigned Carson a job.  “Watch Parker.”

I then took Kayla to change her diaper, which she had pooped in, but, like a lady, she kept her gift confined to the diaper. Once done with that I put the pack-n-play together and got her all snuggly in bed with two baby-dolls. I relieved Carson and proceeded to bathe Parker.

When I removed him from the water and you would have thought I had beaten him… that kid LOVES bath time. I slathered him in lotion and dressed him, noticing that he was getting sleepy. As I turned to put him in the bed I realized I had not changed his sheets from the morning poop-out.

After I got his bed put back together and put him in it, I headed to wash this load of laundry that couldn’t wait.  It was just enough “fun” to make me feel I needed a bowl of ice cream with some Hershey’s drizzled on top.  Gotta say I think it made me feel better!

I sat down to eat my really, REALLY rare treat and turned on the TV to find absolutely nothing on.  Not only was there nothing on, on the channels I DO get were commercials.  Not real ones, of course, but the 8 minute long AFN things, so for the few minutes I wanted to VEG I was not even able to watch anything interesting.

And it was then that I heard, “Be still.”

Be still.

Turn off the TV.

Turn off FaceBook.

No, I hadn’t had to fight for my life this morning, nor had I had to worry about the status of my job or our finances.  But there was commotion in my real, everyday life that warranted the reminder, “be still.”

The past 20 minutes as I recalled and wrote the events of today have been very peaceful.  I can hear the dryer working to dry the first batch of dirty laundry, the washing machine cleaning the current batch of dirty laundry, Bailey making sound effects for whatever scenario he’s imagining, and Adventures in Odyssey pouring wholesome messages into my bigs’ hearts.

I can hear a clock ticking.  I hear no babies crying, which means their little bodies are getting the rest they need.

Be still.

I feel peaceful and thankful for the life I live.  I am thankful that I don’t have to fight.  I don’t have to fight the big battles that come occasionally or the small battles I face each day.  I’m thankful that I serve a God who loves me enough to care about each of my battles and promises to fight them for me.

I wrote this post yesterday afternoon during the boys’ rest time.  This morning as I read through it I was reminded of this picture I had taken while I was going through the photography class.  If you look closely at the clock above, you can see the passing of time.  This was during the week I was learning about shutter speeds and I thought I’d try out a very slow shutter one.  I think it was about 10 seconds or so, judging by the second hand which is very faint.  

 

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in About my faith, brothers/boys, family, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Be still.

  1. jjhill826 says:

    Beautifully written. Thanks for sharing and the inspiration to be still knowing that He is taking care of it all.

  2. This post could not have come at a better time for me! With all that goes into moving to Germany, I have been very stressed. This was a great reminder for me that I need to just breathe and let God help me through this. That His plan will work out the way it is supposed to.

    Thank you! 🙂

  3. Pam M. says:

    Love this glimpse into your life that sounds so much like certain days I experience too. I am glad that the Lord gave you peace in the midst of your “exciting” morning! 🙂

Leave a Reply

