A Post-it Note Love

My husband has been using Post-It notes to say, “I love you,” for years.

He leaves them around the house for me to find when he goes on trips or even on just random days.  I have one that he left me before he deployed that I decided to leave permanently where he left it.  It was on my Power of a Praying Wife book and it says, “Thank you for praying for me.”  I covered the front of that book with clear packing tape to make sure it stays put forever.

For our 17th Dating Anniversary I plastered our living spaces with Post-It Notes for him, letting him know just how much I love and appreciate him.  While I was making those for him I realized just how much the notes he’s left me over the years have meant to me.  Because of that, I decided to let this Valentine’s Day be filled with Post-Its.

I wanted to make something out of Post-Its.  I did a google search for post-it art and found that there are world-wide Post-It wars going on.  Pretty amazing stuff that people way more talented and creative than I have made.  (Here and here are some examples… blew my mind.)  I knew immediately I was looking for a guitar shape.  I found only two, with this one being my favorite:

A bit more detailed than I had the time to create, and a lot larger than I have room to display.

So, I bought my Post-It notes and got started.  You will now laugh and think mine is horribly juvenile after seeing the real one above but eh… it was for Matt and he liked it! And Parker even knew what it even before I finished it!

I also used an idea I saw on a friend’s Facebook page and bought several types of candy, putting little notes on them using the name of the candy in the note.  Instead of putting them on black cardstock, I used Post-It Notes, in keeping with my theme.  I had it all set up so nice and pretty on the table but never got a picture of it.  WHAT WAS I THINKING?!?!

Oh well.

To round out the Post-It theme I found a small notebook on our shelf and walked around the house, collecting all the Post-It Notes for safe keeping.  We can now add to this book and have it forever.  The pink one has been on our washing machine for two years, thus the bleach stains.

My sweet Valentine started the day off by giving me a message in a bottle.  When Matt was deployed I’d send him the Starbucks Frappuccinos in the glass bottles for a little taste of home.  He would then use the bottles to send me sweet notes.

After lunch I got a call from him asking if I was home.  I told him I was but that I was hanging out with Aimee and we were Skyping with Jessica.  I thought he might have stopped by had there not been chaos going on, but that he was just going to skip it.  Nope. He came anyway!  He brought me a beautiful rose, a White Chocolate coffee, and some chocolate chip cookies!

Overall, we did way more for each other than we had originally intended.  We did the whole, “We’re not celebrating Valentine’s Day since we just celebrated our half-our-lives anniversary, right?!?”   We’re not big Valentine’s Day people, but little nothings go a long way.

I am truly blessed.

I am my Valentine’s, and my Valentine is mine.   (Roughly taken from Song of Solomon 6:3.)

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Post-it Note Love

  1. Tisa Sedberry says:

    I love this post. It’s a simple extraordinary kind of love that’s shown throughout the entire year.

  2. Ahahaha! At first glace, I seriously thought you did that first post it art guitar!! I love random ways we show our spouses we love them! Very cute!

Leave a Reply

