Valentine’s Day is not for boys…

You want proof?  You shoulda been at my dining room table while I was cooking dinner.  Bailey, who had played hard all day, was in tears filling out those things!

Bailey:  “Why do I have to do this?!?”
Me:  “Because, you’re going to Co-Op on Monday and those kids are making you Valentine’s Day Cards.”
Bailey:  “I’ll just say I don’t want any Valentine’s Day Cards!”

I assure you, if there were a polite way to skip Valentine’s Day, the Hamrick boys would be begging to do it.

To be fair, the Co-Op coordinator asked for the names of the kids who wanted to participate and I responded that all of my bigs would like to.  I didn’t anticipate drama.  I certainly didn’t anticipate tears.  However, we will survive.  We will address these Valentine’s Day Cards and I’m pretty sure when Bailey receives his bag of goodies he’ll be glad he put forth the effort.

I bet there are life lessons in here somewhere about doing things that we don’t want to do; perseverance; being kind to others; showing people we like them; blah-blah-blah.  Find and dandy.  Still, living with a bunch of boys zaps the fun right out of Valentine’s Day.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in brothers/boys, family, homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Valentine’s Day is not for boys…

  1. Bug's Mama says:

    Haha- Thats why we didn’t sign up 😉 I’ll buy him a candy at the store gladly to save the tears of having to do valentines.

    • Jennifer says:

      Smart mama you are. I should have done that. 🙂

      We got them all done and they’re packed and ready to go. Glad that’s over. Next year we’re skipping Valentine’s Day!

  2. christina says:

    We had similar dialogue at our house. I think we’ll skip next year too. 🙂

    • Jennifer says:

      Now that they’re enjoying their candy they might remember this and just suffer through with better attitudes next year. They’re all walking around with blue teeth: THANKS to the mom who packed FunDip!!

      (Please note I am being sarcastic. FunDip is one of my favorite candies and Hayden actually shared it with me. I was just too embarrassed to admit that I, too, am walking around with blue teeth.)

Leave a Reply

