Field Trip: Technoseum in Mannheim

A few weeks ago we went on a field trip with our homeschool group to a hands-on museum and the children had an absolute blast.  There was so much to see that I think a season  pass might have been good idea.  For those in North Carolina, think “Discovery Place.”

It was called the Technoseum and, for me, the most exciting part was that my boys were getting to touch and manipulate the very things they’re learning about in their science right now.  Gears, levers, and simple machines of all kinds.

My one regret is that I didn’t get a full shot of the “hamster wheel.”  I got several close-ups but it’s hard to get an idea of what I’m talking about without the full shot.  Here is a screenshot taken from that website:

(I got this picture from this website.)

Below you can see Carson checking out the huge gears and a picture of he and Hayden walking inside the wheel, powering the arm that is lifting the huge rock on the other side of it.  In the picture of the rock you can see Hayden’s knee and part of his red coat as he and Carson are inside the wheel, walking and lifting the rock.

Bailey loved the hot air balloon exhibit:

When you spin the dial you can see in some of the images, the panel filled with water spins.  The faster you turn the dial the faster the panel spins, showing you the power of centrifugal force.

Bailey using a pulley to lift himself up on a swing. The exhibit also had a series of pulleys, all lifting the same weight. The kids were able to try each pulley system to feel the proof that the more times the rope is threaded through the pulley the less effort is required to lift the weight.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in brothers/boys, family, homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Field Trip: Technoseum in Mannheim

  1. Looks like you all had a great time! I have a feeling both my boys would love it!

    It reminds me of a place in Ohio (where I grew up) called COSI. It’s a hands-on science museum; I loved going there as a kid!

  2. dragonsnbottlecaps says:

    That looks like so much fun. I wish I were living a wee bit closer to Mannheim :p (or any other city with a science museum for that matter)

Leave a Reply

