One last hurrah.

I thought I’d look up the definition of that phrase.  One last hurrah.  At first I didn’t think that what I was reading really matched what I was feeling about the night this post is about.  We had to have one last night of games with the three families before the Hills moved, so we scheduled a Vapiano-take-out night and ate some of the yummiest food on the planet right at my table.

We then played cards, acting silly, all the while feeling a heaviness in the air.  Once again, my life is bittersweet.

As I read the definitions of “hurrah” I finally decided that they really do match what is going on in real life, even if it’s not fun.  Here are a few examples:

Used as an exclamation of pleasure, approval, elation, or victory.
1.  A shout of “hurrah.”
2. Excitement; fanfare.

  • To applaud, cheer, or approve (someone or something) by shouting “hurrah.”
  • a cheer of joy, victory, etc.
  • [probably from German hurra; compare huzzah]
  • Hurrah, hurray, and hooray are alterations of huzza, a sailor’s cheer. (Zak’s a Marine, and the Marine Corps is part of the Navy… sailors.)
  • hooray
  • cheer – a cry or shout of approval
  • a shout of joy, enthusiasm etc

So, going back my point about me not really thinking these definitions applied to our last evening with Jessica and Zak, we were definitely not cheering.  We were not happy they were leaving.  But we were joyful.  We were in approval.  We were enthusiastic.  Again, not about the fact that they were leaving but because they were following God’s will for their lives.  So, I guess that night was, in fact, our last hurrah.

(At least until April, when we go visit them!)

Giving them gifts we were very excited to give. The men gave Zak a horn stein thing... it was a man thing and I don't really know much about it. Aimee and I gave Jessica wine glasses because she didn't have a full set. We also gave her the wine-glass charms with the suits of cards since she collects playing cards.

Getting some help from the babies!

Game Time!

Game Time.

As the night came to a close we started the uncomfortable process of saying “the goodbyes.”  We put Connor and Parker in the recliner one last time.  Here’s what they looked like the first time we did this:

And the last time:

Lately all attempts to get a picture of all three babies together has been a challenge.  Here are a few of the funniest shots, which turn out to be my favorites anyway.

And in a last-ditch effort, we threw the dads in there to hold babies still:

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, friends, germany. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

