Butterfinger kisses

No, that’s not a typo.  I know the song is titled “ButterFLY Kisses.”  I have fond memories of that song.  It is very representative of my relationship with my dad, as we actually DID give each other butterfly kisses.  But I have four sons.  I don’t EVER get butterfly kisses.  More often than not I’ll get hugs and kisses with traces of dirt or chocolate or, if from Parker, baby drool.

A few weeks ago while at Garmisch I came down with a relatively mild stomach bug but it had me trapped in my room for 3 days.  We were VERY fortunate to have two adjoining rooms so that the boys could remain in one for their school time (and vegging in front of the TV time) and I could remain in bed.

I was well enough to grade Math for each of them and I couldn’t help but be irritated by Hayden’s doodling on all the pages (so much doodling that I could barely read his answers) and Bailey’s less-than-stellar handwriting. I’ve nagged and nagged and seen no improvement. I’ve left notes in their books as a reminder to keep their pages clean.  I’ve even purchased my budding artists with notebooks dedicated to doodling. When I finally got to Carson’s I realized that I had been checking his work for 5 minutes without even realizing it. Time was flying and I was having no difficulty because his handwriting was so neat and there were no distracting doodles anywhere to be found.

Instead of fuss at the two who were messy I decided to reward the one who was neat. I called them in and gave Carson a dollar to go spend in the candy machine. (Kinda nice to be in hotel with a vending machine! Felt a little like “Suite Life of Zack and Cody!”) I heard a few grumbles from the messies but they knew… they knew they were not deserving of the candy and so there was only a little. I thought, “I bet these grumbles will get louder when Carson returns with whatever treat he buys for himself and gets to eat it right away!”

I was only a little off base…

When he got back he came to me and said, “Here,” handing me a Butterfinger.  I was confused and thought that maybe I hadn’t explained myself clearly.  I reminded him that the dollar was a reward to him for having such good handwriting.  He assured me that he understood but that he wanted to buy my favorite candy bar and give it to me.

Oh, be still my heart.

He brought me chocolate.

He will make his wife such a happy woman!  As I said I had a mild stomach bug that made nothing sound good, not even a Butterfinger, but I couldn’t turn him down!  I told him that the only way I’d accept the Butterfinger was if he ate half of it.   He did and I kept mine until I felt better.  Oh, it melts my heart when one of my sons does something so generous.

And when I hear the words in Butterfly Kisses and remember how quickly my own childhood flew by it makes me sad that before long my babies will be grown and raising their own little ones.  I want to treasure all the Butterfinger Kisses I can get!

Below is a slideshow of my favorite pictures of my boys set to the soundtrack of my dad singing Butterfly Kisses.  The song has been sitting on my computer unused for years (except by the boys, who think it’s pretty cool that their Papa sings… they weren’t blessed to hear him sing on a daily basis like I was growing up but they can hear him on their iPods).  I figured that since the topic of my sweet boys and my love for them was on my heart I’d share the song my dad sang for me at my wedding.  Though he recorded it ahead of time it so he wouldn’t have to perform AT my wedding… he could just be my dad at my wedding!   (Original Artist: Bob Carlisle)

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in brothers/boys, family, homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Butterfinger kisses

  1. Pam says:

    Oh, what a sweet boy Carson is! Doesn’t that just make everything worth it? Happy sigh….

  2. so sweet. hope you are better and the bug did not move around to the boys….All 4 of them. You are so lucky.

  3. Jeff Pencik says:

    Thanks for sharing this with me! You are a great mom with a great family, too.

    Merry Christmas

    Uncle Jeff

    • Jennifer says:

      Thank you very much! I really appreciate that! Merry Christmas to you, as well. (I’d write more but I’m on my iPhone and am just too lazy to do so! We miss you!)

  4. Jason Penick says:

    Beautiful. Your family, and that song.
    Merry Christmas.
    Love,
    Jason, Heather and Jaxon

Leave a Reply

