Day 32: Today I’m Thankful for Command Hooks!

Strange, I know.  November is over and yet I am still finding potential status updates in everything!  I guess the daily reminder had an affect on me.  The title of this post is what I would use for today’s Day of Thankfulness if I were to continue it into December.

If you remember I did a mini-home-make-over back in October and worked on my stairwell area, office, and hall closet.  I’m happy to say that we’ve done a great job of keeping most of it clean since then!  Part of the stairwell transformation included three large Command hooks so the bigs could hang their jackets out there.

I wanted a smaller hook for Parker but the PX was out at the time.  I also needed mini hooks so I could decorate for Christmas when the time came, so I called my personal shopper (AKA:  Mom) and sent her moohlah.  She picked up exactly what I ordered which totaled to be about $50 in Command hooks.  I’ve had so much fun decorating and playing it’s not even funny.  Okay, maybe it is a little funny how giddy these plastic sticky hooks make me.

If I’m counting correctly I’ve put up 11 so far…  I have plenty more for whatever else I need to hang! Since I took these pictures, I’ve put up even more, including the boys’ stockings!

Below are pictures of my “Snowman Window.”  

We are now fully into the Christmas season and I’ve not heard anyone complain of hearing Christmas music in a week.  Seems like all the bah-humbugs have either gotten over it or joined in the party.  (And this is not directed at any one person, Ms. You Know Who You Are!!  I get that whole “let every holiday have its turn.”  I do!  I think…)

My time to write has dwindled due to more activities in the past month.  Went to Garmisch twice in November all the while trying to continue homeschooling.  This month we will travel again but to a different marriage retreat location.  I have so many things I want to journal before I forget them, but at this point, I’m just living life.  About 5 years ago I decided I didn’t want to do the whole, “hate the Christmas season because it’s too busy” thing so I just say “No” to a lot, only putting on my calendar the things I want or need to do.   I encourage you to do the same.  Don’t go to all the Holiday activities you’re invited to.  Stay home and make popcorn and watch Elf instead.  Try to mark two things per week out of your schedule from now until the beginning of the new year.  Let that give you time to develop an appreciation for the Reason for the Season.  I happen to know at least four families who are moving during this season, so I pray that even in that crazy busy time they are able to find moments to relax, love their families, and enjoy the Reason we decorate, give gifts, and sing all these festive songs.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, germany. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 32: Today I’m Thankful for Command Hooks!

  1. Bug's Mama says:

    I’m diggin the command hooks, what a great idea!

  2. Pingback: Coupon fun. | thehamricks

Leave a Reply

