Baby, it’s cold outside.

I love cold weather.  I appreciate scarves, coats, and boots.  But I’m getting the impression from Parker that he does not.  (And for my non-cold-weather-loving-friends, I will admit we went from spring-like weather in early October to winter weather within 2 days… just after my parents left.)

This picture was taken a couple of Saturdays ago after I finally gave up and put him in the van to thaw out.  Before the cold weather arrived I had purchased a sleeping bag designed to fit in the stroller to keep him warm.  If you recall, I was thrilled because I got it at a steal for $10 when they sell for anywhere from $20-40.  As far as I can tell, I wasted my ten dollars.  Parker cries, no, he screams, anytime I put him in it.  There was no way we were going to be able to sit near people while he screamed and cried.  I thought he might eventually settle so I walked him in circles until it became clear that he was not about to calm down.

I drove my van to the other side of the soccer field and parked so we could watch from inside the van.

As you can see from the video below, Parker loved the game as long as he was inside the van.  (Warning… puke cam.)

This Saturday I decided to dress him in a snow suit at home and travel to the soccer field, giving him 30 minutes or so to adjust to the bulky outfit.

It was a no go.

Still, not digging the cold.

He did considerably better if Matt walked him in the stroller but even still, he would burst out screaming every few minutes.  I’m thinking Christmas Markets will be attended by myself, my husband, and possibly the bigs while Parker enjoys some one-on-one time with a sitter.

After the cold soccer game (32-34°) we loaded up the Silver Surfer and headed to Ansbach to visit some friends.  We were thrilled to meet the newest member of the Ritt family.  She’s the spitting image of her father and, at a few weeks old already, is as healthy as can be, even though she not even due until my birthday, November 4th.

The Ritt family met us at a Greek restaurant where we enjoyed a fantastic meal while entertaining the wait staff who actually asked us why Americans have such large families.  It was a great meal and the walk through downtown Ansbach was adorable.  It reminded me a bit of a miniature Wiesbaden.  Ansbach displays a section of the Berlin wall and we stopped to take a picture with it.  I really haven’t taught the boys much about this event in history but I plan to before we actually go to Berlin.

After we had explored enough we went to their house so the boys (adults and bigs) could go explore an old WWII Army bunker.  (There’s no confirmation about the actual use of the bunker, so we’re attributing it to a WWII era usage.)

This field trip gave my friend and I the chance to catch up and for me to get to hold baby L.  Adorable and tiny.  At 5 lbs + change she weighs just over half of what Carson weighed at birth!  After they returned the boys played a driving game on the Wii… fun stuff.  And to top the night off, we cooked hotdogs and smores over a fire pit.  Boys and fire.  Yep.  They were in heaven!  And I think because it is such a fall-y activity, I adore it as well.  In fact, the next three times I washed my hair I could smell the camp-fire smokey smell and it reminded me, yet again, that we are at the beginning of my favorite season!

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, friends, germany, parker, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby, it’s cold outside.

  1. Pam M. says:

    Tell Hayden Jamie has a hat just like his ! 🙂 Wears it everywhere he can! Maybe Parker will adjust to the cold as he gets older! 🙂 Love you!

  2. Jess says:

    I don’t like cold, either, Parker!! I hope Spring comes soon for ya’lls sake!

Leave a Reply

