It’s beginning to look a lot like…

…Thanksgiving!

I mentioned in “It’s official” that I went shopping recently to purchase fall decorations and I had a blast.  The boys and I finished school quickly and we left the house pretty excited about it.  It has been a long time since I took the boys out on the town during school, just for the fun of it.  It reminded me a bit of these years:

That was when we didn’t have school to keep us grounded at home each day.  Carefree days.  Days to do whatever we wanted.  Not that we don’t like homeschooling but those were good days…

I had heard that Das Depot was “the” store to shop in so I found two online, one being in the Karstadt which was really nice as it has a parking garage, and the other being a short walk away from the first.  I love how Wiesbaden finds places to put parking garages.  I’m sure this isn’t unique to Wiesbaden, but this mall’s garage is on the roof.  After going around and around a dozen times we exited on the roof.  It was so windy that I left Parker in the van and walked to the edge to get a quick 360 degree video of our town.  Upon viewing it this morning I decided I had to slow it down a bit in order for you to see anything!  That’s why you’ll see the boys running in slow-mo!

We ate a quick snack in the restaurant on the top floor.  The food was so expensive that I decided we’d share a plate of noodles and meatballs and hit the Mickey-Dees for a 20 pack of nuggets before getting to the real shopping day.  The McDonald’s downtown has a “walk-thru” window.  Pretty nifty!

In the Karstadt the Das Depot was pretty picked through regarding fall decorations so I only bought a few things there.  After picking up our nuggets we walked a couple of blocks through the pedestrian area and found the stand-alone Das Depot.  Remember the scene in Chevy Chase’s “Christmas Vacation” when they spot the tree?  Lights shining, angels singing?  Yep, that happened.

Except it was with Fall decorations, not a Christmas tree.

Parker was happy with his nuggets.  I placed one boy in each corner of the clearance section with a basket and I started filling those baskets!  They were to guard those baskets with their lives as people were picking through the left-over fall goodies and eyeballing my treasures.  Or maybe they were eyeballing all the kids in the store that should have been in school.  I had no idea what I was doing other than buying stuff that looked fall-y and were colorful.  When I went to pay three employees were standing around chatting and there was no line.  By the time I was finished paying and the cashier was working on wrapping up my breakables, there was a line almost to the rear of the store and the ladies just behind me, who were purchasing only 3 things each, were taking turns resting their legs by leaning against the register.  Seriously?  I just stood there patiently…  it was as if they were annoyed with me for buying so much, when they should have been annoyed that the store hadn’t opened a second or third register.

On the way back to the Karstadt I stopped to buy a croissant at a Bäckerei and then the most delicious desserts at Café Maldaner for the five of us to share.  To be honest I was pushing it with this.  I was having so much fun shopping and enjoying the day that I couldn’t resist this one last treat.  The boys were not as appreciative of the expensive chocolate mousse that could win some serious awards, I’m sure.  They were bickering over who sat where and it sort of spoiled the moment.  I should have grabbed a couple to go, or even just one for me to enjoy later.  But it was such a good day that even a little bickering between the bigs couldn’t spoil the fun and we made it home with four bags of decorations and an extra chocolate mousse for Matt.

A few days later Dana came by to help me make sense out of all I had purchased.  It actually took two visits to complete because there was quite a bit of work to be done.   She did an incredible job and I am very grateful.  I took the following pictures for two reasons: to share with you and so that next time I get to decorate for fall I just need to look back at these pictures and paint by numbers.

Happy Fall!

The table:

Window 1:

Window 2:

Miscellaneous fall goodies:

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, germany. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s beginning to look a lot like…

  1. Crystal Stranton says:

    Hi Jennifer,
    I sent you a FB message last week, but found out some of the messages I sent from my phone didn’t go through. Sorry if you’ve seen this twice! I was wanting to ask you a few more questions if that’s ok. We were originally told we were going to Wiesbaden, but now there is a 50/50 chance it may be Grafenwoehr instead. We were supposed to find out yesterday, but are still waiting.

    From what I can tell the temperatures are a little cooler in Grafenwoehr. My question is about kids clothing. I have twin 14 month olds. I had purchased summer clothes for them for next summer (from end of season sales) before we found out about Germany. Is it warm enough for your kids to wear shorts & short sleeve shirts during the summer? I see the average temperatures, but 70’s-80’s in south Georgia is a lot different than 70’s-80’s in western Pennsylvania! So I’m not sure if I will be able to use the summer clothes over there or not.

    Thank you for any help you can offerI I really appreciate it!

    Also, your fall decorations look really nice! Crystal

    • Jennifer says:

      No, I never got it! So glad you resent it!

      Yes, you will have plenty of time to wear shorts/short sleeves! I don’t know specifically about Graf but here it is plenty warm enough. I have been to Garmisch multiple times and it is even farther south than Graf… yes, you will need shorts and clothes for hot weather. Remember, there is NO AC here!

      I do hope you are able to come to Wiesbaden but you will love it here, either way. From what I hear Graf is 2 hours from the Alps. Seriously?!? That’s pretty amazing!!

  2. Crystal Stranton says:

    Thank you! I’m glad to know I don’t have to try & return all the clothes! I forgot about not having A/C either!

    We are still waiting to hear about which post we will be sent to. A whole lot of hurry up and wait, as usual! I’m just getting antsy because if it is Wiesbaden then we’ll move in January. It’s almost November! There is a lot to do & I want to go visit some family before we move. I just keep praying about it & I know it will all work out! Wiesbaden would be our first choice, but Graf would be great too. Any place in Germany would be better than not going there at all!

Leave a Reply

