It’s official…

Fall has arrived.  Ignore the fact that the first “official” day of fall for 2011 was September 23rd because the weather from that date until October 6th was mild, warm, and spring-like.  It was perfect for the visit with my parents and I wouldn’t change the weather we had while they were here because it made traveling and soccer games comfortable.

As soon as they boarded the plan cold weather swooped in.  We’ve been watching soccer games in 30-40 degree weather.  Seriously cold.  And I LOVE IT!

So far this fall:

Our family went on a pumpkin-picking adventure, which turned out not to be exactly what I was hoping for but a fun outing nonetheless.  The excitement revolved around two teeny-tiny four-legged friends.  If you know me, the fact that I used the words “fun” and “four-legged friends” in the same paragraph is quite a breakthrough.

I budgeted for fall decorations because now that we’re debt free I could without feeling like I should be doing something else more productive with the money.

I then had a friend come over to help me set those decorations up because I am NOT a decorator.

I purchased Pumpkin flavored creamer at the commissary and I assure you, I will be back for more in hopes that they haven’t sold out already.

The past 3 weeks have been the busiest three weeks of 2011 so far and, while everything we’ve done has been great and activities we really wanted to participate in, I miss my slow-paced life which affords me the time to write on a daily basis.  I know the next two and a half months are going to be just as busy because it includes my birthday and two holidays.  We have entered my FAVORITE TIME OF THE YEAR!  So, I’ll be busy but I plan to make time to slow my heart and mind and enjoy this season.  I am a “quiet-time-in-the-morning” kind of girl because I won’t end up doing it if I don’t.  I’m thinking about making myself get up an extra 30 minutes earlier 3 days a week just to write in my journal or to blog here.  Let’s see how that goes!

I’ll leave you with this picture of pumpkins… I can’t wait to show you some more pictures from the past few weeks!

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, germany. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s official…

  1. Jess says:

    I like cool weather, but am NOT looking forward to our 40 degree soccer game this morning! Time to break out the hats and gloves for this family!

    • Jennifer says:

      I admit I did not dress appropriately for our soccer game yesterday. It was 32-34 degrees and I was wearing tennis shoes. My toes about froze right off my feet. I changed into boots as soon as I got home, before we headed to Ansbach for the day. As long as I’m dressed for it cold weather is awesome. Parker, however, hated being dressed for it and he hated the stroller-sleeping-bag thingy. Screamed. Not just cried. Screamed. I’m really hoping he’ll let us get to some of the Christmas Markets. I may be paying a lot of baby sitters this Christmas Season so I can go to the markets. This being our last Christmas here, I’m not going to miss them but the way he was screaming, there’s no way we could go anywhere like that.. I wish I could put him back in the infant carrier all bundled like he was last year… hmmm. That’s an idea. I wonder if that would work. Not for driving around in the car, but just for walking around downtown….

Leave a Reply

