Black bean Chicken (Crock Pot)

I know I’m posting a lot of recipes lately but the reason is I’m so completely bored with the same menu I’ve had for the past 3 years.  I am actually feeling motivated to try new things and, so far, Burger Bacon Meatloaf (what was I THINKING?!?) has been the only epic failure of the new batch.

Because the months of September and October include three nights of soccer each week, I am using my Crock Pot on those nights.  This particular meal was AWESOME. Simple, inexpensive, and SO tasty:

Ingredients:
4-5 boneless chicken breasts
1 (15 1/2 ounce) can black beans
1 (15 ounce) can corn
1 (15 ounce) jar salsa, any kind
1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese

Directions:

  1. Take 4-5 frozen, yes, frozen, boneless, skinless chicken breasts and put into crock pot.
  2. Add 1 can of black beans, drained, 1 jar of salsa, and 1 can of corn, drained.
  3. Keep in crock pot on high 4-5 hours or until chicken is cooked.
  4. Add 1 package of cream cheese (just throw it on top) and let set for about 1/2 hour.
  5. All done and enjoy!
I think I found this recipe here.

I have to say, I cooked this a little differently because I wasn’t going to be home and ready to eat at the 4-5 hour mark.  I cooked it on low for 4 hours, put the cream cheese on top and cooked on low 2 more hours.  PERFECT.

The awesome conversation that was started over the “Pesto Cavatappi” dinner was continued… the boys loved this meal and thought I should start a restaurant. Bailey’s going to set up a table in the back yard and sell food to people who drive by. I guess he’ll cut down the fence or pass food through… not sure about that. Anyway, after being very efficient yet not very creative for a few years, it’s fun to finally feel inspired to try new things. It’s more fun to get compliments from the people who are willing to be brutally honest.

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in family, food/recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Black bean Chicken (Crock Pot)

  1. Ashea says:

    Jennifer……..This was wonderful!!!! My girls had 2 helpings each. Thanks so much for posting!!!
    Ashea

Leave a Reply

