Xylem.

Know what that is?!? If not, let me show you!

We are LOVING Switched-on-Schoolhouse‘s 4th Grade Science. Amazing!  Included in the lessons are science experiments and we did the first one this week.  As you can see, we were studying plants and how they get water and minerals from the soil to the leaf, the food factory.  The experiment was fun, simple, easy, and effective.

There is a separate company, Home Science Tools, who sells a kit of items that will include many of the items needed for the experiments in our curriculum.  It seemed a bit pricy until I started searching on Amazon for the various things we’d need.  I put all the little strange things in my cart and the price, before I had everything I needed, exceeded the price of the kit.  One thing that sold me was that I was going to have to purchase 50 feet of copper coil instead of 3 feet… this kit includes JUST what I needed and I didn’t have to do the work and search for things.

The kit contained no items for today’s particular experiment, as we needed celery, food coloring, and water.  Household staples around here.  In the picture below you will see the science kit on the shelf of the desk.  I took this picture of Bailey as he was logging on to the computer to do a science lesson.  This is the desk Bay won in the drawing at our library. Each child who participated in the summer reading program was entered and Bailey won! It worked out perfectly as we actually needed another space for the kids to do science.  We have put it in our room so that the computer will be in a place where the boys will have no distractions… It works out beautifully.  Only thing wrong in this image (other than the fact that it is not technically correct or well-lit) is that the child is using a dreaded PC.  Unfortunately SOS does not work on MAC.  Someone PLEASE bring these developers into the 21st century!

About Jennifer

"Yes, they're all mine." The answer to the question I hear most often.
This entry was posted in brothers/boys, homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Xylem.

  1. Jess says:

    I remember doing that in school!

  2. Ashea says:

    Hey Jennifer….. You inspire me so much….You have not got me so interested Science now….it looks awsome and fun…..Is it really hard to figure out how to
    use the program or is it fairly simple….does it require alot of prep work….I am wanting to do something for all of my girls instead of 3 seperate Science lesssons…..I’m not a computer wiz…..(I still use paper and pen for almost everything..I am trying to do better :))…..Thanks for letting us be apart of your lives…You make me want to do better!!!!! Thank you!!! Ashea

    • Jennifer says:

      Ashea, you are too sweet! The SOS program really doesn’t require a lot of work to set up, and they have a really great customer service center if you get stuck. I have a 5th grader, 3rd grader and a 2nd grader. I bought 4th grade and it’s right on target for the older two. I have to read most of the text to the 2nd grader (he’s a bit low in his reading skills) but he understands most of the material as long as I read and explain things to him.

  3. Pingback: Making a magnet | thehamricks

  4. Pingback: What we will miss: 3 – Our library. | thehamricks

Leave a Reply

